Sat | Mar 24, 2018

U17s have 'absolutely fantastic chance' - Edwards

Published:Thursday | September 15, 2016 | 12:00 AMMarc Stamp

National Under-17 head coach, Andrew Edwards, is highly confident that this team has enough talent to do well in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) tournament in Trinidad and Tobago.

The team left yesterday for the Under-17 tournament that kicks off tomorrow.

Jamaica advanced to the final stage after easily winning Group Four in the previous stage in July. They had wins against Guyana, 4-1; Antigua and Barbuda, 3-1; and the US Virgin Islands 9-0.

Now, the Jamaicans are placed in Group A for the final round of qualifiers to the CONCACAF tournament and ultimately the FIFA Under-17 World Cup next year.

"We have an absolutely fantastic chance as we have a team that can qualify for the CONCACAF tourney," Edwards told The Gleaner yesterday.

"I think the talent level and discipline in the team are very good. The youngsters play to instruction, and that is very important in moving forward," he shared.

The Jamaicans will play against Bermuda tomorrow, then Haiti on Sunday and finish the group stage when they face hosts Trinidad and Tobago next Tuesday.

In Group B, the teams are Cuba, Curacao, Suriname and Guadeloupe.

After the completion of the group stage, the top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals scheduled for September 23. The final will be on September 25.

Also, the top five teams from the CFU tourney will move on to the CONCACAF tournament in Honduras in November.

SQUAD: Jeremy Verley (Milton Academy, USA), Tajay Griffiths (Wolmer's Boys'), Daniel Russell (Holmwood Technical), Nickache Murray (Wolmer's Boys'), Jamoi Topey (Camperdown High), Kendall Edwards (Park View High, USA), Kimani Gibbons (St Jago High), Jordan Peterkin (Kingston College), Damani Osei (Cosby High School, USA), Cawayne Allen (St James High), Jamari Morrison (KC), Renato Campbell (KC), Horace Ramsey (KC), Blake White (USA), Cobi Atkinson (American Heritage, USA), Chad Letts (YSC Academy, USA), Omar Thompson (KC), Kaheem Parris (Dinthill Technical), Raewin Senior (Excelsior High) and Nickque Daley (Clarendon College).