Mon | Oct 22, 2018

Rusea’s rule after 2-1 win

Published:Sunday | September 18, 2016 | 12:00 AMPaul Clarke

Western Bureau:

Rusea's High charged into the lead of Zone B in the 2016 ISSA/FLOW daCosta Cup with a workmanlike 2-1 win over rivals Frome Technical yesterday.

The fleet-footed Okean "Minni Me" Thompson was the catalyst of the victory, with a fine man-of-the-match display. The diminutive forward not only scored, but also assisted on the other goal for his team.

Thompson netted in the 17th minute when he expertly controlled the ball before firing home from an acute angle to give Rusea's the lead against a lacklustre Frome contingent.


Second consecutive win


Two minutes later, in the 19th, Thompson sprang Leonardo Foggarty, and the midfielder drilled his shot into the back of the net for a 2-0 lead.

Frome would have something to cheer for when Jerome Lindo scored from the top of the area, shooting under the diving Rusea's goalkeeper to cut the lead in half; but that was as close as Frome were allowed to get as Aaron Lawrence piloted his team to a second consecutive win and six points to lead the zone.

Champions STETHS had it hard against Maggoty but still managed a 1-0 win to stay in the lead in Zone E, while Munro edged Lacovia 1-0 to go second.

Godfrey Stewart returned to winning ways after a surprise loss to Little London in Thursday, trampling Manning's 3-1 to resume the battle for Zone D honours with Petersfield.

Glenmuir suffered their first loss of the campaign, going down 0-1 to Garvey Mace in a big Zone M clash, while Vere remain top of Zone N with a 1-0 win over the previously unbeaten Kemps Hill.

Elsewhere, St. James High continue their fine form with a third straight win, a commanding 4-0 victory over Irwin to stay second in the zone behind Cornwall College who also logged a third win, stopping Green Pond 2-1.


Yesterday's results


Frome 1 Rusea's 2

Oracabessa 0 Fair Prospect 0

Glenmuir 0 Garvey Maceo 2

Central High 6 Tacius Golding 0

Bustamante 0 Old Harbour 0

Vere 1 Kemps Hill 0

Paul Bogle 3 Robert Lightbourne 0

St James 4 Irwin 0