Mon | Oct 15, 2018

Student athletes shortlisted for Courtney Walsh Award

Published:Monday | October 10, 2016 | 12:00 AM

Six secondary-school athletes have been short-listed to receive awards under the umbrella of the prestigious Courtney Walsh Award for Excellence.

The names were released by members of the selection committee and the winners will be announced at The Jamaica Pegasus hotel on Thursday, October 13, starting with cocktails at 6:30 p.m. and the ceremony at 7:00 p.m.

This year's nominees are Jhevaughn Matherson of Kingston College; Travis Brown and Kyle Martin, both of Wolmer's Boys' School in the male category.

The nominees in the female category are Aiko Jones of Wolmer's Girls' School; Susan Douglas of The Queen's School and Satanya Wright of St Elizabeth Technical High School.

Since 2013, the Culture, Health, Arts, Sports and Education Fund, administrators of the Courtney Walsh Award for Excellence in sports, has been collaborating with principals in schools at the secondary-level across the island to nominate female and male students to be recognised at the prestigious annual event.

To receive this award, students must have displayed exceptional qualities in their academic performance, and demonstrated team commitment and good tenets of fair play while representing their schools in sports.

It is mandatory that the students are Jamaican nationals and the nominations submitted by the principals of secondary institutions include a report outlining why each student is being selected for the award.




The student award is an addendum to the 12-year-old event, which salutes the stalwarts in the sporting arena, and has, to date, recognised eight high-school students between grades 10 and 13. The awards, sponsored by the Supreme Ventures Foundation, include a $250,000 cash award towards the development of a specific school project, one year's Internet service and a computer tablet.

The past awardees include Mark Parchment of Munro College and Janell Dalberry of St Jago High School in 2013; Natalliah Whyte of St Jago High School; and Jaheel Hyde of Wolmer's Boys' School in 2014; and Junelle Bromfield from St Elizabeth Technical High School and Javauni Garwood of Wolmer's Boys' School in 2015.

The Courtney Walsh Award, which is in its 12th year, was conceptualised by Former Prime Minister P.J. Patterson, an avid cricket follower who was prompted to establish the award to celebrate excellence in sports, having observed the exemplary qualities demonstrated by Ambassador Courtney Walsh throughout his illustrious international cricket career.