Sat | Jul 21, 2018

Red Force welcome uncapped trio for openers

Published:Saturday | November 5, 2016 | 12:00 AM

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC):

Three uncapped players have been named in a 13-man Trinidad and Tobago Red Force for the first two games of the Regional Four-Day season, which bowls off next week.

All-rounder Jyd Goolie and left-arm spinner Khary Pierre, along with another all-rounder, Roshon Primus, will join the side led by Yannick Ottley.

Red Force open their first-class campaign in a day/night pink ball game against Windward Islands Volcanoes at Queen's Park Oval before also hosting Barbados Pride the following weekend.

Head coach Gus Logie said preparation had been extensive and his side was ready for the upcoming season.

"Our preparation has taken into consideration all aspects of the game. We looked at our fitness levels and we worked on improving that, discussed our teams goals and mental strength," Logie told the Express newspaper here.


"At the end of the day, we discussed our expectations of each other and improving our skill level.

"We have done a lot of work in the nets, and unfortunately, the pitch at the National Cricket Centre is under reconstruction so we were unable to have enough middle practice as we would want to, but the nets were available to us and we had a few practice games."

Goolie, a lower-order batsman and off-spinner, was a member of the West Indies Under-19 squad, which won the Youth World Cup in Bangladesh earlier this year.

He struck an unbeaten hundred in a recent trial game to force his way into the selectors' frame.

Pierre, meanwhile, is a left-arm spinner, while Barbadian Primus, 21, is a right-arm fast bowler.

However, Red Force will have to do without the experience of all-rounder Rayad Emrit and Evin Lewis, who are both unavailable for selection due to their commitments in the Bangladesh Premier League.

SQUAD - Yannick Ottley (captain), Jeremy Solozano, Kyle Hope, Yannic Cariah, Jason Mohammed, Jyd Goolie, Steven Katwaroo, Imran Khan, Roshon Primus, Marlon Richards, Khary Pierre, Jon Russ Jaggesar, Sheldon Cottrell.