Mon | Sep 24, 2018

Lottery Ticket gets up in time

Published:Sunday | November 6, 2016 | 12:00 AMOrville Clarke
LOTTERY TICKET (left), with Omar Walker aboard, clipping LUNAR ROCKET (Dane Dawkins) to win the Miracle Cure Sprint over 1100 metres at Caymanas Park yesterday.

The 8-5 favourite, LOTTERY TICKET, got up in the nick of time to beat long-time leader LUNAR ROCKET (5-1) by half-a-length in the inaugural running to the Miracle Cure Sprint over 1100 metres at Caymanas Park yesterday.

Ridden by leading jockey Omar Walker for 15-time champion trainer Wayne DaCosta and co-owners Elizabeth DaCosta and Bruce Levy, LOTTERY TICKET was kept off the early pace set by LUNAR ROCKET and the chasing BLUE MOON (19-1).

Responding to a bustling ride from Walker, a furlong out, LOTTERY TICKET fairly flew over the last 100 metres to catch LUNAR ROCKET within shades of the wire, with her stable-companion BLUE MOON holding on to third in a field of 14 three-year-old fillies.

A lightly raced sort, LOTTERY TICKET, by Seeking The Glory out of Just A Flutter, was notching her second win from five starts.

Earlier in the afternoon, SOTOMAYOR (5-1), ridden by champion apprentice Linton Steadman for trainer Anthony Nunes, floored the odds on the howling 1-9 favourite HENRY THE SECOND to win the Abbie Grannum Memorial Cup for maiden two-year-olds over 1400 metres by half a length.


The grey colt by Traditional out of Runaway Julie, went by HENRY THE SECOND from early in the straight and although the favourite rallied strongly in the closing stages, SOTOMAYOR was not to be denied.

He is co-owned by David Miller and Stephan Narinesingh and provided Steadman with the second of two winners on the card, the other being LEGENDARY PLEASURE at 5-2 in the first race.

The best horses will be on show next Saturday for the 38th running of the Burger King Superstakes over 2000 metres for a purse of $4.5 million. Ten entries have been received for the Superstakes, including last year's winner, FRANFIELD, from the Richard Azan stables, two-time winner TYPEWRITER and the reigning 'Horse of the Year', SEEKING MY DREAM.