Sun | Feb 18, 2018

Scoop Jordyne ready for big run

Published:Saturday | January 14, 2017 | 12:00 AMOrville Clarke
Apprentice Bebeto Harvey guiding SCOOP JORDYNE (left) to victory on November 16 last year.

The James B. Dawes Memorial Trophy (claiming $450,00 - $400,000) over 1300 metres will hold the spotlight at Caymanas Park today.

Nine starters have been declared and with ZUGULU and SCOOP JORDYNE both stepping down in class to vie for this trophy, it could come down to this pair.

Having shown much promise early in his 3-y-o career, ZUGULU from the Richard Azan stables has been a source of disappointment but he has never had it this easy for some time and with the distance ideal, could score a long overdue win with newly-crowned champion apprentice Bebeto Harvey in the saddle.

Even with the recent winners EL CLIENTE, MESSITHEGREAT and TRADITIONAL STORM present, SCOOP JORDYNE, who has beaten better in the not too distant past, looks the right choice with the trip up his street. Though getting on in age, the 8-y-o gelding, who now takes orders from trainer Johnny Wilmot, looks conveniently placed in the scales with 54.0kg and with 2.0kg claiming apprentice Linton Steadman riding very well, SCOOP

JORDYNE catches my fancy.




Elsewhere on the programme, the recent course winner SIMPLY THE BEST and the horse he beat by a head that day, KING D, should have another battle royal for top honours in the fifth race over 1100 metres, to be contested by seven starters.

The Gary Subratie-trained speedster, SIMPLY THE BEST, made all in the December 24 War Zone Sprint, just holding off the chasing KING D in the smart time of 1:05.3. SIMPLY THE BEST renews rivalry on slightly worse terms but with three-time champion jockey Dane Nelson retaining the ride, it should go down to the wire again.

The useful 3.0kg claiming apprentice Andre Powell has the ride aboard the Spencer Chung-trained KING D and in a close race, is tipped to turn the tables. So it should be KING D from SIMPLY THE BEST and another old rival, MISTER BONES.

Other firm fancies on the card are ARMAGEDDON to win the first race over 1200 metres ahead of SARAH LEE, FORCE DE JOUR in the third, MONEYNEVERSLEEP ahead of old rival EXPRESS TRUCK in the fourth, consistent BIRD CATCHER in the eighth and DUSSELDORF in the 10th and final.