Mon | Mar 19, 2018

Edwin Allen, Hydel, Holmwood shine at Jamalco

Published:Friday | February 10, 2017 | 12:00 AMHubert Lawrence
Junelle Bromfield

Fans at last weekend's JAAA/Jamalco Development meet saw a lively battle between Edwin Allen High and Holmwood Technical High in the 1500 metres events.

The pendulum swung back and forth with Edwin Allen in charge in Class One and Class Three and Holmwood on top in Class Two. The fastest time came in Class Three, courtesy of Rushana Dwyer of Edwin Allen.

Dwyer won in 4:53.34 seconds. Even though, the times were slower in the higher classes, the racing was close. Kara Grant outkicked Chrisanni May of Holmwood to clinch the Class One title in 4:59.54 with May not far off at 5:00.08. The tables were turned in Class Two as last year's Boys and Girls Championship double winner Cemore Donald of Edwin Allen was beaten in a close finish. Holmwood's Brittany Clarke got home in 4:56.97 edged Donald by 0.2.




The best sprint performances came from the University of Technology. First, former Garvey Maceo sprinter Tyquendo Tracey covered 200m in 21.68 seconds. Later in the meet, his new University of Technology teammate, Junelle Bromfield, who won four gold medals for St Elizabeth Technical at Boys and Girls' Championships in 2016, put in a notable bout of speedwork. Bromfield dazzled the field in the women's 100 metres and won her heat in 12.14 seconds.

The best 400m run of the day came from tall G.C. Foster College hurdler Marzel Miller. He circled the track in 48.64 seconds.

Off track, the organisers honoured retired Olympians Wellesley Clayton, Garth Case, Byron Dyce, Trevor Dyce and Dennis Dyce.


Selected results





Jade Jones Hydel 11 minutes 12.15 seconds


Class 3

Daniella Deer Hydel 57,87 seconds

Class 2

Abigail Brooks Holm 55.85 seconds


Boys 1500m


Class 1

Tahjay Wilson Bellefield 4:09.74 seconds

Class 2

Jordan Jones MHS 4:21.38 seconds

Class 3

Jahiel Stamp Mavis Bank 5:12.19 seconds


200m Girls


Class 1

Isheena Belnavis Hydel 24.55 seconds


Roniesha McGregor Hydel 24.21 seconds




Tyquendo Tracey UTECH 21.68 seconds.