Thu | Feb 22, 2018

Taylor, Bromfield head Carifta Games squad

Published:Sunday | March 26, 2017 | 12:00 AMRaymond Graham
Junelle Bromfield
Christopher Taylor

An 82-strong squad has been named to represent the island at the 2017 staging of the Carifta Games, which is scheduled to take place at the Ergilio Hato Stadium, Willemstad, Curacao from April 15-17.

The 22-member boys' Under-20 squad is headed by Calabar High's Christopher Taylor, who won the 400 metres at the trials in a national leading time of 45.41 seconds.

Taylor is stepping up to the senior-age group for the first as he won the Under-18 one-lap event a year ago in Grenada. Taylor is joined in this age group by Kingston College's Jhevaughn Matherson, who won the Under-20 100 metres at the Trials in 10.25 seconds.

World Under-20 400m silver medallist Junelle Bromfield will lead a strong senior girls team. Now a student at the University of Technology, she won the one-lap race in an impressive 52.75 at the trials.

Full squad

Under-18 girls: Britanny Anderson, Annia Ashley, Abigail Brooks, Lotavia Brown, Janique Burgher, Kevona Davis, Lamara Distin, Cemore Donald, Rushana Dwyer, Shaquena Foote, Marie Forbes, Daszay freeman, Michae Harriott, Shaday Hudson, Joanne Reid, Kimone Reid, Taffara Rose, Danielle Sloley, Sanique Walker, Briana Williams

Under-20 girls: Gabrielle Bailey, Aneka Brissett, Junelle Bromfield, Amoi Brown, Devia Brown, Janeek Brown, Kasheika Cameron, Britnie Dixon, Taqece Duggan, Nicolee Foster, Kara Grant, Kayan Green, Tissanna Hickling, Chrissani May, Kimoria Muchette, Lorean Murray, Myesha Nott, Fiona Richards, Shian Salmon, Sah-jay Stevens

Under-18 boys: Ricardo Clarke, Daniel Cope, Dashinelle Dyer, Michali Everett, Kimar Farquharson, Cobe Graham, Renardo Johnson, Ramone Lindo, Damar Marshall, Xavier Nairne, Wayne Pinnock, Tyrese Reid, Tarees Rhoden, Dejour Russell, Michael Stephens, Antonio Watson, Rovane Williams, Safin Wills, Terrol Wilson, Tyreke Wilson

Under-20 boys: Gabriel Allen, Timor Barrett, Orlando Bennett, Ryan Brown, Tyreke Bryan, Ackeen Coley, Delano Dunkley, Ronaldo Griffiths, Agerian Jackson, Keenan Lawrence, Jhevaughn Matherson, Carey McLeod, Kyle Mitchell, Dashawn Morris, Kevin Nedrick, Kobe-Jordon Rhooms, Alex Robinson, Shemar Salmon, Malik Smith, Roje Stona, Christopher Taylor, Jelani Walker


Chef de mission: Colleen Montague

Team manager: Ewan Scott

Assistant manager: Orett Wallace

Assistant manager: Georgia Francis

Head coach: Corey Bennett

Coaches: Glasford Stona, Marion James, Ruel James, Dwight Jones, Roderick Mile.

Doctor: Dr Peter Soltau

Masseurs: David-Patrick Thompson and Rory Rhoden