Fri | Jan 19, 2018

Windies face Simmons in Afghan series

Published:Thursday | March 30, 2017 | 12:00 AM

ST JOHN'S, Antigua (CMC):

The West Indies will renew acquaintances with old head coach Phil Simmons when they clash with minnows Afghanistan in three Twenty20 (T20) and one-day internationals (ODI) in June. The West Indies Cricket Board released the fixtures yesterday for the six-match tour, which will see the T20 series staged at Warner Park in St Kitts from June 2 to 5, and the ODI series hosted at the Darren Sammy Cricket Stadium in St Lucia from June 9 to14.

Simmons, abruptly sacked by the WICB last September on the eve of the Pakistan tour in United Arab Emirates, was named as Afghanistan head coach earlier this year and has led them on a successful run.

Last week, they completed a 3-2 one-day series win over Ireland in Greater Noida, to follow on from their clean sweep of the T20 series earlier this month.

They also beat Zimbabwe 3-2 in a one-day series last month, in what was Simmons's first series in charge.

The upcoming series will take on special significance especially after the Afghans stunned West Indies in the preliminary round of last year's T20 World Cup in India, and WICB cricket operations manage, Roland Holder said the hosts would be looking to make amends.

"We are looking forward to welcoming the Afghans to the Caribbean for this short series," said Holder.

"The series promises to be compelling, considering the result of the match between the two sides at the last ICC World Twenty20 in India, and Afghanistan's gradual improvement over the last few years.

"It will also be an important series for our side, as they look to move up in the ICC world rankings in the two formats and continue their quest to qualify for the 2019 ICC World Cup in England and Wales."

West Indies are currently ranked number nine in ODIs outside of the automatic qualification spots for the World Cup while Afghanistan lie 10th.




Tour Match - Warner Park, May 30th.

1st T20I - Warner Park, June 2nd.

2nd T20I - Warner Park, June 3rd.

3rd T20I - Warner Park, June 5th.

1st ODI - Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, June 9th.

2nd ODI - Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, June 11th.

3rd ODI - Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, June 14th.