Sat | May 26, 2018

Elaine Thompson heads World Relays squad

Published:Thursday | April 13, 2017 | 12:00 AM

Olympic sprint champion Elaine Thompson heads Jamaica's 41-member team to the April 22-23 IAAF World Relays 2017 in the Bahamas.

Thompson, who copped gold in the 100 and 200 metres in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil last year, will be joined in the women's 4x100 metres squad by Gayon Evans, Simone Facey, Sashalee Forbes, Natasha Morrison, and Christania Williams.

In the 4x200 metres squad, Thompson is accompanied by Samantha Henry-Robinson, Anastacia Le-Roy, Jura Levy, Dawnalee Loney and Audra Segree.

The members of the women's 4x400m squad are Verone Chambers, Christine Day, Shericka Jackson, Anneisha McLaughlin-Whilby, Stephenie Ann McPherson and Janieve Russell.

There will also be a mixed (men and women) 4x400m squad and this includes Natoya Goule, Jaheel Hyde, Tiffany James, Martin Manley, Jamari Rose and Ristananna Tracey.




Former world 100 metres record holder Asafa Powell and 2011 World 100m champion Yohan Blake are the top names on the men's team which will also compete in the 4x100m, 4x200 and 4x400m.

4x100m: Kemar Bailey-Cole, Yohan Blake, Everton Clarke, Julian Forte, Jevaughn Minzie and Asafa Powell.

4x200m: Nickel Ashmeade, Oshane Bailey, Rasheed Dwyer, Nigel Ellis, Chadic Hinds and Warren Weir.

4x400m: Javere Bell, Javon Francis, Demish Gaye, Steven Gayle, Peter Matthews and Rusheen McDonald.

Officials - manager: Marie Tavares; assistant manager: Alan Beckford; technical director: Maurice Wilson. Coaches: Paul Francis, Jerry Holness, Michael Clarke, Renardo Walcott and Patrick Dawson.

Team doctor: Paul Auden.