Fri | Mar 23, 2018

JPA selects squads for upcoming Games

Published:Thursday | July 6, 2017 | 12:43 AMMarc Stamp

President of the Jamaica Paralympic Association (JPA) Christopher Samuda said that it has been a hard journey but they are ready to compete at the two upcoming global championships.

The JPA selected teams for the 2017 IPC London World Para Athletics Championships from July 14-23 and also the 2017 Nottwil World Junior Para Athletics Championships, August 3-6.

"It has been a hard road, very tough road," Samuda said at a press conference at the Jamaica Olympic Association (JOA) office on Tuesday.

"We made it, but it required tremendous work by our directors and sponsors. The directors toiled to make it possible, but without support from sponsors we would not be here," Samuda who was also recently elected JOA president explained.

"We have two fine sets of athletes for both championships," he added.

Dane Richardson, Digicel Foundation CEO said that his organisation is totally in support of the JPA and the athletes.

"We at Digicel see the leadership and not disability in the athletes. We want to say how proud we are to be a part of this, we see a bright future," Richardson said.

The sponsors include Digicel Foundation, Pepsi, Conrad Industries, Jamaica Broilers, Victoria Mutual, Sports Development Foundation, Mayberry, Tru-Juice and Tastee Limited.

The team for the London World Para Athletics Championships: Shane Hudson, Santana Campbell, Sylvia Grant, Alphanso Cunningham, Jason Brown, Tevaughn Thomas and Dana-Gaye Weller. The official party: Jacqueline Cowan (Chef de Mission), David Richards (team manager), Leroy Harrison (team doctor), Neville Sinclair (coach), Rushane Sterling (massage therapist), Kevin Brown (press attaché), Ann Marie Smith (team official), Ryan Foster (director in charge), Christopher Samuda (president) and Suzanne Harris-Henry (secretary general).

The Nottwil World Junior Para Athletics Championships squad includes Jason Brown, Tyandre Tavares, Moesha Morris, Joshua Pinnock and Tevaughn Thomas.

The officials: Dalton Myers (Chef de Mission), Kaydean Webley (manager), Rani Sittol (team doctor), Kamal Powell (director in charge), Neville Sinclair (coach), Rushane Sterling (therapist)m Ann Marie Smith (official), Kevin Brown (press attaché) and Christopher Samuda (president).