Fri | Jan 15, 2021

T20 Cricket: Windies win toss; send in India

Published:Sunday | July 9, 2017 | 12:00 AMJermaine Lannaman
A cricket fan looks on with great anticipation during a cricket match between the West Indies and India at Sabina Park.

The West Indies have won the toss and have elected to field first in their one-off Twenty20 International against India at Sabina Park.

Led by captain Carlos Brathwaite, the West Indies are seeking to win the encounter as a solace after losing 3-1 in the preceding one-day international series.

The regional men have also left out steady middle-order batsman and young fast bowler Jason Mohammed from their 13-man squad.

Subsequently, the team feature the big-scoring trio of opener Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels and Kieron Pollard with their bowling being spearheaded by fast bowler Jerome Taylor and spinners Sunil Narine and Samuel Badree.

West Indies squad: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton (wk), Kesrick Williams.

India squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Dinesh Karthik, Mohammed Shami.