Sat | Nov 28, 2020

T20 showdown at Sabina Park

Published:Saturday | July 8, 2017 | 12:00 AMJermaine Lannaman
Chris Gayle training with the West Indies squad at Sabina Park yesterday.

If the fireworks experienced the last time West Indies and India met are anything to go by, their one-off Finolex Pipes T20 International at Sabina Park today could be a scorcher. Start time is 10:30 a.m.

The duo, two of the format's most successful teams, last played each other in Florida last year with the West Indies coming away one-wicket victors.

Batting first, the West Indies posted an impressive 245 for six on the back of a maiden international century from young opener Evin Lewis.

The Indians, under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, were then held to 244 for four despite an unbeaten knock of 110 from K.L. Rahul.

The West Indies, reigning world champions in the format, are set to enter the contest high on confidence following the return of big-hitting opener Chris Gayle

The 37-year-old, the format's most successful batsman, will be contesting his first Twenty20 International in his hometown.

He will be joined in the batting unit by countryman, the stylish and effective Marlon Samuels, the hard-hitting Kieron Pollard, and Lewis, who, while not firing in the preceding one-day international series, will be seeking better results in today's game.

Then there is also the power-hitting capability of ICC World Twenty20 hero and captain Carlos Brathwaite, wicketkeeper Chadwick Walton, and young Jamaican all-rounder Rovman Powell.

All-combined, the batting unit, if allowed, could get close to or surpass the 200 runs landmark yet again.

The home team's bowling unit includes fast bowler Jerome Taylor, off-spinner Sunil Narine and leg-spinner Samuel Badree.




India will be aiming to end their tour on a high, having won the one-day series 3-1. Unlike the West Indies, where only four members of their one-day squad are among their 13-member Twenty20 contingent, India have the option of choosing from their one-day squad.

This includes prolific opener Shikhar Dhawan, as well as one-day Man of the Series Dinesh Khartik, along with flamboyant stroke-players captain Virat Kholi, Yuvraj Singh and Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

And, if their batting was not laced with enough power and touch players, there is their bowling, which includes accomplished spin bowlers Ravi Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

West Indies squad: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton (wk), Kesrick Williams.

India squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Dinesh Karthik, Mohammed Shami.