Sat | Nov 28, 2020

'Teddy' Johnson in for Genus

Published:Thursday | August 17, 2017 | 12:00 AMMarc Stamp

Veteran attacker Jermaine 'Teddy' Johnson has replaced rookie Shawn Genus in the Reggae Boyz squad now preparing for a friendly international against Caribbean rivals Trinidad and Tobago.

The 20 year-old Genus was listed by Coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore in the original 18-man squad of local-based players for the August 24 match at the Hasley Crawford Stadium, Trinidad.

However, Genus has taken up a scholarship in the United States of America. Hence, the 37-year-old Johnson, who has many caps for the national senior men's team, has been called up.

"He is on a scholarship in the United States, so the player was replaced after being in the original squad for the game against Trinidad and Tobago," National men's senior team manager Roy Simpson told The Gleaner yesterday.

The diminutive Genus was a star midfielder at St Elizabeth Technical and was a key member of their 2013 and 2015 daCosta Cup championship teams. The skillful player represented Reno in the Red Stripe Premier League last season.




He was called in several training squads this year, but is yet to make his debut in the national senior team.

Johnson was a member of Jamaica's CONCACAF Gold Cup team that was beaten by host USA, 1-2, in the final last month. The Tivoli Gardens star was not included in the original squad. He won the leading goalscorer and most valuable player awards. He was recalled to the national team for the Caribbean Cup and CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The Jamaica squad will continue training today, with an early gym session at the Jamaica Defence Force (JDF) to be followed by an afternoon session at the University of the West Indies-JFF-Captain Horace Burrell Centre of Excellence.

The full squad is: Amal Knight (UWI FC), Jamie Robinson (UWI FC), Ladale Ritchie (Montego Bay United), Javain Brown (Harbour View), Rosario Harriott (Harbour View), Alex Marshall (Cavalier SC), Kaheem Parris (Cavalier SC), Jermaine Johnson (Tivoli Gardens), Marvin Morgan (Arnett Gardens), Vishinul Harris (Arnett Gardens), Fabian Reid (Arnett Gardens), Leonardo Rankine (Sandals South Coast), Shamar Nicholson (Boys' Town), Shaven-Sean Paul (Portmore United), Michael Binns (Portmore United), Ewan Grandison (Portmore United), Ricardo Morris (Portmore United), and Rondee Smith (Portmore United).