Fri | Dec 4, 2020

TKR, Patriots clash in CPL final tonight

Published:Friday | September 8, 2017 | 12:00 AM
Darren Bravo of the Trinbago Knight Riders.

TAROUBA, Trinidad (CMC):

The Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) and St Kitts & Nevis Patriots will meet in tonight's final of the 2017 Caribbean Premier League.

TKR clinched a spot in the last two after they disposed of Guyana Amazon Warriors by six wickets in the third play-off at the Brian Lara Stadium here Thursday night.

Set 160 to win, they overhauled their target with two overs to spare, to reach their second final in three years.

New Zealander Colin Munro spearheaded the run chase with an unbeaten 57 off 51 balls while left-handed Darren Bravo struck 43 off 27 deliveries.

Sent in earlier, Amazon Warriors gathered a competitive 159 for six off their 20 overs, with Gajanand Singh top-scoring with 39 from 25 balls, opener Chadwick Walton getting 37 off 31 balls, and Roshon Primus, a robust unbeaten 35 off a mere 18 deliveries.

Off-spinner Sunil Narine (2-21) and fast bowler Ronsford Beaton (2-30) claimed two wickets apiece.

In reply, TKR lost Narine cheaply leg before wicket to Sohail Tanvir off the first ball of the innings, but any hope Amazon Warriors had of running through the hosts' innings was quickly dashed as Munro took charge.

The left-hander counted seven fours, adding 33 for the second wicket with Canadian Hamza Tariq (10) before putting on a match-winning 85 for the third wicket with Bravo, whose knock contained a pair of fours and four sixes.

NOTE: Match starts at 8 p.m. Jamaica time.