Thu | Dec 13, 2018

McLeod nominated for top IAAF award

Published:Monday | October 2, 2017 | 10:45 AM

Omar McLeod is the lone Jamaican on the list of nominees for the 2017 IAAF World Athlete of the Year award following his exploits at the World Championships in London in August. 

McLeod, the Olympic champion in the sprint hurdles, also struck gold in the 110m hurdles inside the London Stadium to win Jamaica's lone gold medal at the championships. 

He is also responsible for the three fastest times in the world in the event last season with his personal best 12.90 seconds topping the list. McLeod's dominance is underlined by the fact that he ran six of the 10 fastest times in the 110m hurdles event in 2017. 

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF's social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook and Twitter later this week; a 'like' or 'favourite' will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting closes on 16 October. At the conclusion of the voting process, three men and three women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017.


Full List:

Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)
Pawel Fajdek (POL)
Mohamed Farah (GBR)
Sam Kendricks (USA)
Elijah Manangoi (KEN)
Luvo Manyonga RSA)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)
Johannes Vetter (GER)
Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Maria Lasitskene (ANA)
Hellen Obiri (KEN)
Sally Pearson (AUS)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Brittney Reese (USA)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE)
Nafissatou Thiam (BEL)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)