Tue | Aug 21, 2018

Lyn in as new ASAJ president

Published:Thursday | November 30, 2017 | 3:34 AMRachid Parchment

The Aquatic Sports Association of Jamaica (ASAJ), formerly known as the Amateur Swimming Association of Jamaica has elected Martin Lyn as its new president.

Lyn defeated outgoing president Handel Lamey during ASAJ's Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Jamaica Olympic Association headquarters last night. The AGM, which started at 6 p.m., ended minutes after 1 a.m. this morning, because of issues regarding the number of votes given to each registered swim club, based on the association's constitution. This held up the event by close to four hours.

ASAJ's name change was also voted on by the delegates in attendance. 

Georgia Sinclair was also elected first vice president of swimming, while Maureen Smith was voted first vice president of synchronised swimming and Lance Rochester returned as first vice president of water polo.

The votes for ASAJ's treasurer was tied between Florence Williams and Richard Hopkins and it was decided that Williams, who occupied the role before the start of the night, will remain while Hopkins becomes the assistant treasurer. 

Carol Thompson was also elected general secretary.

Lyn had previously served as ASAJ's president for a period of six years.