Tue | Jun 19, 2018

Taylor voted skipper of T20 Team of the year

Published:Friday | December 22, 2017 | 12:00 AM


West Indies Women's captain Stafanie Taylor has been named captain of the ICC Women's Twenty20 Team of the Year.

The 26-year-old was one of three West Indies players in the squad with the flamboyant Deandra Dottin and teenage opener Hayley Matthews also making the XI.

The Jamaican is one of the premier batters in the women's game. She has scored just over 4,000 runs in 108 one-day internationals (ODI), where she averages 43.

She averages 37 from her 80 T20Is that have yielded 2,474 runs.

In the period under consideration, Taylor scored 266 runs at an average of 53 and currently tops the ICC T20 batting rankings.

Dottin, meanwhile, has stood out once again with her powerful middle-order hitting, with a brilliant hundred against Sri Lanka Women last October.

She is now the only woman with two T20 hundreds following her exploits during the 2010 T20 World Cup in the Caribbean.

Fellow Barbadian, Matthews, 19, has emerged as the leading women's bowler and all-rounder over the past year and sits on top both rankings.

She scored 163 runs during the period under consideration while taking 10 wickets with her steady off-spin.

All three Windies players are currently plying their trade in Australia's Women's Big Bash.

No West Indies player made the ICC ODI Team of the Year.