Fri | Jan 18, 2019

In Your Neighbourhood

Published:Saturday | December 23, 2017 | 12:00 AM
Petcom, champions of the Portmore Football League.


Petcom cop Portmore Business House football


Petcom captured the INSPORTS/ Charles Chocolates-sponsored Portmore Business House 5-a-side title after they defeated arch-rivals Portmore Gas 3-2 in an exciting final at the Naggo Head, recently. Raymond Thompson, Marlon Phillips, and Olando Dyre scored for Petcom, while Devon Wilson hit a double for Portmore Gas.

Santos Masters and Nautica, which included former Premier League and national players such as Kevin Lamey, Kwame Richardson, Victor Samuels, Kevin Williams, and Horace Jones, opened proceedings before the grand final.


Passagefort United win seventh community domino title


Passagefort United beat Waterford 250-243 in the final of the MP Colin Fagan-sponsored South East St Catherine Community Domino League at the Portmore HEART Academy recently.

It was Passagefort United's seventh lien on the title. It wasn't an easy feat as Passagefort had to overhaul a 10-point (128-118), first-half deficit to prevail by seven points. Passagefort United, for all their work, walked away with a first prize of $80,000. second prize was $40,000. third place went to Ken's Wildflower, who pocketed $20,000.


Portmore-St Catherine Domino League


The registration of clubs for the Jamaica Domino Federation-City of Kingston Credit Union closes on Sunday, December 31. It costs $7,000 for each club to register, while registration of players is $350 per person. The competition will begin on Sunday, January 14, with a full slate of matches.

Links United are the defending champions, while Spring Village are runners-up.

The launch took place on December 10 at the Garveymeade Sports Club, with a huge turnout of domino lovers.


Eastern Extravanganza football league


Defending champions Common FC from Mountain View Avenue were held goalless by Top Ten in the latest round of the Eastern Extravaganza Football League. In other games, Top Striker clipped Stronger Now 1-0, Black Star beat 116 1-0, Wembley drew 1-1 with Black Star, and Top Range defeated Park FC 1-0.

The competition, which has attracted 12 teams this year, will close with the final on Monday, January 1, 2018. A free stage show, hosted by the Eastern Entertainment Promotions group, will be held after the final. It will feature top acts such as Bounty Killer, Sizzla, and I-Octane, among others.


South Central Super League under way


The 207-18 season of the South Central Confederation Super League is under way.

The competition, which is sponsored by Charley's JB Rum, got under way last weekend with six matches. Sixteen teams, placed in two zones of eight, are involved.

Zone 1 comprises of Vere United FC (formerly Jamalco FC), Tru Juice FC, Moores FC, Old Harbour Bay FC, Real Treasure Beach FC, Black Star FC, Porus FC, and Downs FC.

Zone 2 has Rivoli United, Sporting Central Academy, York Town FC, Dunbeholden FC, St Bess FC, Holland Police Youth Club, Greenvale Academy, and Hillstars FC.

In results last week, Old Harbour Bay travelled to Manchester to defeat Porus 3-1 while another St Catherine team, Tru Juice, hammered Manchester's Downs 4-0. Black Stars won the St Elizabeth derby over Real Treasure Beach 3-0, while in the Clarendon derby, Vere United defeated Moores FC 3-1.


Manchester Teachers in JTA semi-finals


Last year's beaten finalist Manchester will face defending champions St James when the semi-finals of the Jamaica Teachers Association National Netball league is played early next year.

Having disposed of neighbours St Elizabeth 32-21 earlier this month, the Manchester teachers conquered Clarendon 30-17 at Manchester High.

Manchester dominated throughout, leading 6-1 after the first quarter, 15-8 at halftime, and 20-13 heading into the final quarter.

Their male counterparts in football have also reached the semi-finals. They defeated Clarendon 1-0 courtesy of a strike from Marlon Young of May Day High. They had earlier defeated St Elizabeth Teachers 2-0.


G.C. Foster athletes dominate Manchester High 5K


The G.C. Foster College pair of Oshane Archibald and Garfield Gordon proved too good for the close to 300 athletes who participated in the inaugural Manchester High 5K road race in Mandeville recently.

Archibald won ahead of his teammate, Gordon, in 16:25.75. Gordon was close on his heels in 16:25.97. Cross Keys schoolboy Roheilo Gregory was third in 17:37.71, with fourth and fifth going to the Bellefield High pair of Ackeem Tomlin and Javon Francis.

The biggest cheers from the crowd came for Jordon Jones, the first Manchester High athlete to cross the finish line. He was sixth in 18:02.54.

G.C. Foster's Shanice Gordon was the first female to cross the finish line, 27th overall in 20:56.39. The first schoolgirl was Kimara Austin of Spaldings High at 34th overall in 21:28.46. Amazingly, Jordan Samuels of Sydney Pagan High, at 13 years, finished 28th in 21:11.42.

In the race walk category, Duwell Allen topped the field in 25:45.87 ahead of Jon Oliphant in 30:17.70, while in the female section, Olivia McKoy, in 32:22.37, won ahead of Natasha McKenzie 33:21.19.


St Bess top St Elizabeth K.O.


St Bess FC won the first title of the 2017-18 St Elizabeth Football Association season, the President's Cup KO, by defeating Holland PYC in the final played at the STETHS Sport Complex.

The crucial strike came from the boots of Leon Stephenson in the 69th minute.

Both teams will now turn their attention to the second round of the South Central Super League, which takes a two-week break.


Rappa Pam Pam closes shooting year


The local professional pistol shooting competition closed in fine style at the Manchester Rifle and Pistol Club range in Mandeville recently.

It was a historic occasion as it was the first time shooting was contested in three divisions: Standard, Open, and Production.

The Standard, which was contested by most of the shooters, was won for the fifth straight year by Orville Henriques. He tallied 626 points to win ahead of Paul Dixon, who tallied 488 at 78 per cent. Third went to Greg Henry, who got 469 points, with the top five completed by Alvin Amore and Ellsworth Dixon.

The Open Division field was decimated by female shooter Sue Ann Henriques, who won by with 640 points, with second place mining 334 points at 52 per cent. Third place went to Terrence Johnson.

The Production Division was won Christopher Nunez with 621 points. Andre Parnell finished second with 580 at 93 per cent, with Paul Shoucair landing third.