Wed | Jul 15, 2020

Whitmore flies out under old contract

Published:Tuesday | January 23, 2018 | 12:00 AMMarc Stamp/Gleaner Writer
Reggae Boyz head coach Theodore Whitmore.

General secretary of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), Dalton Wint, confirmed yesterday that national senior team head coach Theodore Whitmore would continue to work under his old contract as the new deal is still not signed.

Whitmore left with the team yesterday as it travelled to Turkey for a friendly international next Tuesday against World Cup bound South Korea.

"Until we sit down and have a discussion again with Mr Whitmore, he will travel and work with the old contract. That is definite," Wint who is also a part of the delegation, told The Gleaner ahead of the flight yesterday.

Reports have emerged that Whitmore, who was appointed interim coach in September 2016 is not in agreement with some items in the new contract offered by the JFF.


Discussions had


"I don't think we are going to have a problem because we have had discussions on it and he seems quite satisfied, so it is just for us to go through the details and then for him to put pen to paper," Wint added.

Michael Ricketts, who took over as president last September following the passing of Captain Horace Burrell, said he was confident that Whitmore would accept a new deal. He also shared that Whitmore's contract is subject to renewal after it expires, based on his performance with the senior team.

"It is for two years because it has to be for the life of this present administration, so the year after, we will look at it again," Ricketts said last November.

Whitmore guided the Reggae Boyz to a second-place finish in the CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament last July, where they were edged 2-1- by hosts United States in the final.

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz are set to face South Korea next Tuesday at the Antalya Stadium in Turkey, starting at 6 a.m. (Jamaica time). Before that, the Reggae Boyz will play against Romanian club, Csgaz Metan Medias on Saturday.

Full playing squad: Fabian McCarthy, Ricardo Morris, Je-Vaughn Watson, Ladale Richie, Kemar Lawrence, Shaven Paul, Jamiel Hardware,.Devon Williams, Shawn Lawes, Shaun Francis, Javain Brown, Dane Kelly, Amal Knight, Jovan East, Chevon Marsh Alex Marshall, Owayne Gordon, Tevin Shaw, Maalique Foster and Oniel Fisher.

Team officials: Michael Ricketts, president, Dalton Wint - general secretary; Raymond Grant - head of delegation; Theodore Whitmore - head coach; Donovan Duckie - assistant coach; Warren Barrett - goalkeeper coach; Harry Nelson - physical trainer; Roy Simpson - team manager; Dr Ivor O'Connor - team doctor; Kevin Christie - physiotherapist; Garone Brown - masseur and Norman Stone - equipment manager.