Wed | Oct 16, 2019

St Catherine CC hunt three wins in a row

Published:Saturday | March 3, 2018 | 12:00 AMJermaine Lannaman/ Gleaner Writer
Tamar Lambert

Perennial title contenders St Catherine CC will look to maintain their unbeaten record in the Jamaica Cricket Association Senior Cup when they host Police at Chedwin Park today.

The Milton Thomas-coached unit, which has current and former national players Tamar Lambert, Odean Brown, Gavin Wallace, Peat Salmon and Oraine Williams in their lineup has, so far recorded two wins from as many starts and sit atop Zone D.

They defeated St Ann by eight wickets in their opener before getting the better of St Mary by five wickets last weekend and are current leaders of the zone.

Police, on the other hand, lost their opening encounter against fancied Kingston CC by 69 runs. They were, however, successful in round two, where they defeated Trelawny by seven wickets at the Trelawny Stadium.

''We are definitely looking to make it three from three as our aim this season is to add the two-day title to our one-day triumph,'' said a confident Milton Thomas, coach of St Catherine.

''I am happy with where we are now in terms of form and attitude, and with the return of our current national players from regional Super50 duties the team is strong.''


Leading batting line


Lambert, who has been captaining the Saints in the absence of Danza Hyatt, who is currently in Australia playing league cricket, is set to lead their batting along with Williams and Salmon, Brown, left-arm spinner Stephan Casey and West Indies Under-18 off-spinner Jeavor Royal.

Cellar dwellers Trelawny will host Kingston at Trelawny Stadium in the other zonal affair.

In other matches, surprise Zone C leaders Boys' Town, who have a record of one win and a draw, will host Westmoreland, while University of The West Indies will entertain Hanover at the Sir Frank Worrell Cricket Ground.

In Zone B, Lucas CC will play away to St Catherine CA, St Thomas travel to Portland, and Kingston and St Andrew will welcome Melbourne CC at Maxfield Park.

Zone A will see Clarendon and Manchester facing off at Jamalco.