Mon | Mar 8, 2021

Walker, Johnson lead Jamaica to second straight win

Published:Thursday | March 29, 2018 | 12:00 AMJermaine Lannaman
Jamaica Under-15 coach Phillip Service

Captain Sanjay Walker produced another mature batting display to pilot Jamaica to a 20 runs win over Trinidad and Tobago, and their second win of the Cricket West Indies Under-15 Championship at Kensington Park yesterday.

Walker, who made a top score of 51 in the team’s opening round win over the Leeward Islands, made an innings-high 45, as Jamaica, sent in to bat, scored 149 for seven off 46 overs in the 50-overs affairs contest.

Trinidad, who defeated title-holders Barbados in their first encounter, were then bowled out for 129 off 42.1 overs with batting all-rounder, Jordan Johnson, claiming five for 35 off his maximum 10 overs.

It was also another second solid showing by Johnson, who bowling leg-spin, took a team-leading four for 27 against the Leewards. Johnson and Walker are the only two returning members from last year’s team.

Walker, batting at his customary number five position, faced 98 balls and hit one four, while anchoring several middle and lower order partnerships.

Javon Nembhard, 27, and opener Johnson, 21, were the next best scorers for Jamaica against Avalon Changoor and Andrew Rambaran, who picked up two wickets each.

Captain Rajeev Ramnath, 22, and opener Justin Jaggesar led the way for Trinidad in their response.

In other matches, Barbados bounced back with an impressive seven wickets win over Windward Islands at Chedwin Park, while Guyana recorded their second win in as many matches, following a 70 runs victory of Leeward Islands at Melbourne Oval.

The Windwards, who lost to Guyana in their opener, were bowled out for 117 off 43.4 overs. Barbados, in reply, posted 121 for three off 30 overs.

Meanwhile, at Courtney Walsh Drive, Trinidad, batting first, made 148 off 42.1 overs, before returning to bowl out Leewards for 69 off 24.2 overs.

The round-robin 10-day tournament, which will see the team with the most points being declared winner at the end, will continue tomorrow with another three matches.