Sun | Dec 16, 2018

Bangladesh strike first in ODI

Published:Monday | July 23, 2018 | 12:00 AM


Hamstrung by a slow pitch, West Indies failed to fire, and Bangladesh, led by their most-capped opener, Tamim Iqbal, and most-capped bowler Mashrafe Mortaza, won the first One-day International by 48 runs yesterday.

With the Guyana National Stadium pitch in stark contrast to the surfaces they have exploited throughout the last month and a half in Tests against Sri Lanka and this opponent, the Windies bowlers gained slow bounce and little movement to the delight of the Bangladeshi batsmen, and Tamim collected his 10th One-day International hundred, an unbeaten 130, to anchor his side to 279 for four in 50 overs after they chose to bat.

The home team's batsmen, however, failed to adjust to the conditions, and though there were periodic explosions from the bat, the resolve required was absent, and they limped to 231 for nine in 50 overs, with Mortaza using his vast experience to claim 4-37 from 10 overs.

Before it was over, Shimron Hetmyer increased his value with a typically flamboyant 52 from 78 balls that included five fours, veteran Chris Gayle gathered 40 before he was run out just when it looked like he was getting into gear, and Alzarri Joseph and hometown boy Devendra Bishoo both finished on 29, providing some tail-end entertainment in an unbroken last-wicket stand of 59.

The result meant that the visitors take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series, which continues on Wednesday under the lights at the same venue before it concludes three days later at Warner Park in St Kitts.

Apart from the pitch, West Indies were let down by sloppy fielding, and Tamim survived an early chance to plunder 10 fours and three sixes from 160 balls to lead the charge for the tourists.

Four clear misses and a number of close calls blotted the Windies' copybook, paving the way for a 207-run stand between Tamim and Shakib-Al-Hasan, whose 97 from 121 balls included just six fours.

Entering the final stages, the host still seemed to have a rein on things with Bangladesh 211 for two, but Mushifqur Rahim arrived to blast a quick-fire 30 and put on 54 in 21 balls with Tamim to add meat to their team's total.

West Indies failed to get a flourishing start from Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis to put early pressure on their opponents in the chase, and gradually, Bangladesh tightened the screws with steady bowling.

BANGLADESH (maximum 50 overs)

Tamim Iqbal not out 130

Anamul Haque c Nurse b Holder 0

Shakib-Al-Hasan c Hetmyer b Bishoo 97

Sabbir Rahman st Hope b Bishoo 3

+Mushfiqur Rahim c Bishoo b Russell 30

Mahmudullah not out 4

Extras: (lb7, w8) 15

TOTAL: (4 wkts, 50 overs) 279

Mosaddek Hossain, *Mashrafe Mortaza, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain did not bat

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Anamul Haque, 1.3 overs); 2-208 (Sabir Rahman, 44.3); 3-221 (Sabbir Rahman, 46.3); 4-275 (Mushfiqur Rahim, 49.5)

Bowling: Russell 9-0-62-1 (w2); Holder 9-0-47-1 (w1); Joseph 10-0-57-0; Nurse 10-0-39-0; Bishoo 10-0-52-2 (w5); Mohammed 2-0-15-0

WEST INDIES (target: 280 off 50 overs)

C Gayle run out (Mahmudullah/Mosaddek Hossain) 40

E Lewis c Mahmudullah b Mashrafe Mortaza 17

+S Hope lbw b Rubel Hossain 6

S Hetmyer c Shakib-Al-Hasan b Mustafizur Rahman 52

J Mohammed st Mushfiqur Rahim b Shakib-Al-Hasan 10

J Holder c Mosaddek Hossain b Mashrafe Mortaza 17

R Powell c wkpr Mushfiqur Rahim b Mustafizur Rahman 0

A Russell c Mahmudullah b Mashrafe Mortaza 13

A Nurse c Mahmudullah b Mashrafe Mortaza 7

D Bishoo not out 29

A Joseph not out 29

Extras: (b4, lb1, w6) 11

TOTAL: (9 wkts, 50 overs) 231

Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Lewis, 8.4 overs); 2-41 (Hope, 12.1); 3-81 (Gayle, 21.3 overs); 4-111 (Mohammed, 28.2); 5-141 (Hetmyer, 35.2); 6-141 (R Powell, 35.3); 7-151 (Holder, 36.5); 8-163 (Russell, 38.5); 9-172 (Nurse, 40.4)

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 10-1-37-4; Mehidy Hasan Miraz 10-0-37-1; Rubel Hossain 8-0-52-1 (w1); Mosaddek Hossain 7-0-22-0 (w1); Mustafizur Rahman 8-0-35-2; Shakib-Al-Hasan 7-0-43-0 (w4)

Result: Bangladesh won by 48 runs

Series: Bangladesh lead three-match series 1-0

Player-of-the-Match: Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)