Wed | Dec 11, 2019

Reggae Boyz hunt first win against Ecuador

Published:Friday | September 7, 2018 | 12:00 AMMarc Stamp/Gleaner Writer
Adrian Mariappa

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz will look to secure a historic win against Ecuador when the two countries meet in a friendly encounter today at the Red Bull Arena in New Jersey, USA. Kick- off time is 7 p.m.

In three previous friendly games, Jamaica, ranked 54th on the FIFA Coca Cola latest list, are yet to score a win against the 60th-ranked Ecuador. On October 4, 1996, Ecuador edged Jamaica 2-1. Then in the other two games, the teams battled to 0-0 results, on August 12, 2009, and September 2, 2011.

This game serves as a warm-up for Jamaica's first CONCACAF Nations League game against The Cayman Islands on Sunday at the National Stadium at 7 p.m.

Reggae Boyz head coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore has selected a mixture of local-based Red Stripe Premier League and overseas-based professionals for both games.




Among the professionals are Watford defender Adrian Mariappa and Michael Hector, who is on loan at Sheffield Wednesday in the English Championship from Chelsea. Mariappa and Hector last played for the Reggae Boyz in a World Cup qualifier against Panama in September 2016.

Reggae Boyz manager Roy Simpson said that the friendly game will serve as a good warm-up for the Nations League opener.

"Though the Ecuador game is a good one, we did not want it so close to the Nations League, but we understand that the Jamaica Football Federation needs the money," Simpson shared.

Jamaica squad: Ladale Richie, Ricardo Morris, Javon East, Amal Knight, Peter Vassell, Tevin Shaw, Ricardo Thomas, Fabian Reid, Jeadine White, Andre Blake, Fabion McCarthy, Damion Lowe, Owayne Gordon, Romario Williams, Darren Mattocks, Kevon Lambert, Cory Burke, Kemar Lawrence, Adrian Mariappa, Alvas Powell, JeVaughn Watson, Michael Hector, and Alex Marshall.

Ecuador squad: Alexander Dominguez, Pedro Ortiz, Juan Carlos Paredes, Frickson Erazo, Cristian Ramirez, Mario Pineida, Robert Arboleda, Jhon Espinoza, Gustavo Vallecilla, Renato Ibarra, Fernando Gaibor, Jefferson Orejuela, Fernando Romario Ibarra, Alan Franco, Jhegson Mendez, Angelo Preciado, Edison Vega, Enner Valencia, Miller Bolanos, and Ayrton Preciado.