Tue | May 26, 2020

Modric ends Ronaldo-Messi duopoly

Published:Monday | September 24, 2018 | 12:00 AM
Croatia and Real Madrid star Luka Modric receives the Best FIFA Men’s Player Award during the ceremony of the Best FIFA Football Awards in the Royal Festival Hall in London, England, yesterday.


Luka Modric broke a decade of award dominance by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi after being crowned World Footballer of the Year by FIFA yesterday.

Marta won the women's award for a sixth time.

Modric was voted FIFA's best player in the 2017-18 season after winning the UEFA Champions League for a fourth time in five seasons with Real Madrid and leading Croatia to its first World Cup final, where it lost to France.

Messi and Ronaldo were the only winners of world football's main individual award from FIFA in various guises since 2008, both winning five titles each.

Messi did not make the three-man shortlist and skipped the trip to London. And as a new dawn in FIFA's awards history broke inside London's Royal Festival Hall, Ronaldo also did not turn up at the ceremony to be dethroned in person by his former Real Madrid teammate, despite being in the final three alongside Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah.

"Two guys we don't know," actor Idris Elba, who hosted the show, said after revealing the world XI of the year and highlighting the absence of Messi and Ronaldo in the room.

Ronaldo, who left Madrid in the summer to join Italian champion Juventus, was knocked out of the World Cup in the round of 16 with European champions Portugal.

Salah scored a record 32 goals in a 38-game English Premier League and helped Liverpool reach their first Champions League final in 11 years.

At 1.72 meters (5 feet 8 inches), Modric was doubted early in his career because of his height.

"These things were not a burden, they only further motivated me," Modric said at the World Cup. "You don't have to be a strapping lad to play football."

The cloud over the 33-year-old playmaker is that he was charged with perjury in March in an investigation linked to his transfer to Tottenham from Dinamo Zagreb in 2008. Prosecutors claimed Modric gave a false court statement last year about his financial deals with a former Zagreb director.




Didier Deschamps (Men's football - France)

Reynald Pedros (Women's football - Lyon)




Salah for his goal in the Merseyside derby in December 2017.




Thibaut Courtois




German forward Lennart Thy won the Fair Play Award after missing a game for Dutchside VVV-Venlo to help a leukemia patient. Thy donated blood to enable doctors to generate stem cells that could make a transplant possible for a leukemia patient and possibly save their life.




Goalkeeper: David De Gea (Spain, Manchester United)

Defenders: Dani Alves (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain), Raphael Varane (France, Real Madrid). Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid).

Midfielders: Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), N'Golo Kante (France, Chelsea), Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea).

Forwards: Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid/currently Juventus)