Wed | May 22, 2019

Half centuries for Hope, Powell

Published:Monday | November 19, 2018 | 12:00 AM

CHITTAGONG, Bangladesh (CMC):

Shai Hope and Kieran Powell struck half-centuries on the opening day of the two-day tour match here yesterday as the Windies geared up for next week's first Test against Bangladesh.

Opting to bat first against a Bangladesh Cricket Board XI, the Windies ended the day at the MA Aziz Stadium on 303 for six, with Hope top-scoring with 88 and Powell getting 72.

Roston Chase chipped in with 35, while both Shane Dowrich and Shimron Hetmyer got 24.

Playing in their only warm-up match before the opening Test, the tourists lost captain Kraigg Brathwaite cheaply for six with the score on 11 in the seventh over of the day.

However, Hope and Powell then came together in a 163-run-seconds' wicket stand to lead the Windies recovery.

Hope faced 112 balls and struck 10 fours and three sixes, while the left-handed Powell was more circumspect, counting six fours and a six in a 142-ball knock.

Hope retired hurt and Powell fell to a catch at the wicket off left-arm spinner Fazle Mahmud, paving the way for Chase, Hetmyer and Dowrich to spend valuable time at the crease.

The Windies will face Bangladesh in two Tests starting next Thursday at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium here in Chittagong.

The tour also includes three One-Day Internationals and three T20 Internationals.




WEST INDIES 1st Innings

*K Brathwaite b Shafiul 62

K Powell c Zakir Hasan b Fazle Mahmud 72

S Hope ret. hurt 88

S Ambris b Nayeem 17

R Chase lbw b Rubel 35

S Hetmyer c Rishad Hossain b Nayeem 24

+S Dowrich c Zakir Hasan b Soumya Sarkar 24

R Reifer batting 14

K Paul batting 18

Extras (lb3, nb2) 5

TOTAL (6 wkts, 86.3 overs) 303

To bat: J Warrican, D Bishoo, S Gabriel, K Roach, S Lewis, J Hamilton.

Fall of wickets: 1-11, 2-174, 3-200, 4-239, 5-270, 6-271.

Bowling: Shafiul 10-3-23-1, Rubel Hossain 10-2-40-1, Ebadat Hossain 8-0-36-0, Robiul Haque 7-0-21-0, Nayeem Hasan 26-3-104-2, Rishad Hossain 15.3-2-55-0, Fazle Mahmud 5-1-11-1, Soumya Sarkar 5-1-10-1.

BCB XI - Rubel Hossain (captain), Soumya Sarkar, Zakir Hasan (wk), Mizanur Rahman, Fazle Mahmud, Ebadat Hossain, Shadman Islam, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Nayeem Hasan, Shafiul Islam, Robiul Haque, Mohammad Mithun, Rishad Hossain.

Umpires: Masudur Rahman, Gazi Sohel