Fri | Apr 19, 2019

Sterling, Parchment and Jackson added to RJRGLEANER Sportsman, Sportswoman of the Year nominations

Published:Wednesday | December 5, 2018 | 3:51 PM

The Board of Directors of the RJRGLEANER Sports Foundation has advised that following a submission from its Selection Committee on Wednesday, it has approved three additional nominees for the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year 2018 awards. 

Commonwealth Games 110m hurdles silver medal winner and NACAC champion Hansle Parchment, has been added to the list of nominees for the Sportsman of the Year award.

Meanwhile, Shericka Jackson, the Commonwealth Games 200m silver medallist and 2018 Netball Fast5 MVP Shamera Sterling, have both been added to the Sportswoman of the Year nominations.

In a statement from the Foundation, it was noted that following the launch of this year's awards a week ago, it had done further research and determined that the three new nominees meet the criteria for nomination. 

The Selection Committee will meet again in early January to determine if there should be any further nominations based on performances between now and the end of the year. 

Parchment's addition brings the list of nominees for the Sportsman of the Year award to five with Fedrick Dacres, Chris Binnie, O'Dayne Richards and Ronald Levy completing the list. 

Alia Atkinson, Aisha Praught-Leer, Shanieka Ricketts, Kimberly Williams, Janieve Russell, Kadijah Shaw, Danniel Thomas-Dodd and Stafanie Taylor are the other nominees for the Sportswoman of the Year award. 

The winners will be announced during a ceremony at the Jamaica Pegasus on January 18, 2019.