Sun | Jul 12, 2020

Bangladesh beat Windies by five wickets – 1st ODI

Published:Sunday | December 9, 2018 | 12:00 AM
Shai Hope top scored for the Windies with 43 runs

DHAKA, Bangladesh, (CMC):

Bangladesh defeated West Indies by five wickets in the opening One-Day International of the three-match series at the Shere Bangla National Stadium on Sunday.

West Indies scored 195 for nine off 50 overs with Shai Hope top scoring with 43 runs. Keemo Paul added 36, while Roston Chase 32 and Marlon Samuels 25 offered support against Mashrafe Mortaza, who claimed 3-30 and Mustafizur Rahman 3-35.

In their reply, Bangadesh got to 196 with the loss of five wickets off a mere 35.1 overs.

Mushfiqur Rahim helped himself to 55 not out, while Liton Das 41 and Shakib-al-Hasan 30 also got in on the runs. Roston Chase was the most successful Wesrt Indian bowler with figures of 2-47.


K Powell c Rubel b Shakib 10
+S Hope c Mehidy b Mashrafe 43
D Bravo c Tamim b Mashrafe 19
M Samuels c Liton b Rubel 25
S Hetmyer b Mehidy 6
*R Powell c Liton b Mashrafe 14
R Chase c Mehidy b Mustafizur 32
K Paul c Mehidy b Mustafizur 36
K Roach not out 5
D Bishoo c & b Mustafizur 0
O Thomas not out 0
Extras (lb3, w2) 5
TOTAL  (9 wkts, 50 overs) 195
Fall of wickets: 1-29 (Powell), 2-65(Bravo), 3-78 (Hope), 4-93 (Hetmyer), 5-119 (Powell), 6-127(Samuels), 7-178 (Chase), 8-194 (Paul), 9-195 (Bishoo)
Bowling: Mehidy 10-0-30-1, Shakib 10-0-36-1, Mustafizur 10-0-35-3, Mashrafe 10-0-30-3 (w1), Rubel 10-0-61-1 (w1)


Tamim Iqbal c Bishoo b Chase 12 

Liton Das b Paul 41
Imrul Kayes b Thomas 4
+Mushfiqur Rahim not out 55
Shakib Al Hasan c Hope b Powell 30
Soumya Sarkar c Powell b Chase 19
Mahmudullah Riyad not out 14
Extras (lb6, w13, nb2) 21
TOTAL (5 wkts, 35.1 overs) 196

Did not bat: Mehidy Hasan, *Mashrafe Mortaza, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain
Fall of wickets: 1-37 (Tamim), 2-42 (Imrul), 3-89 (Liton Das), 4-146 (Sakib), 5-175 (Soumya)
Bowling: Roach 6-0-35-0 (w5, nb1), Chase 9-1-47-2 (w2), Thomas 5-0-34-1 (w3, nb1), Paul 8-0-37-1 (w3), Bishoo 6.1-0-30-0, Powell 1-0-7-1.
Result: Bangladesh won by five wickets.

Series: Bangladesh lead three-match series 1-0.
Man-of-the-Match: Mashrafe Mortaza.

Toss: West Indies
Umpires: Ruchira Palliyaguruge; Sharfuddoula; TV – Aleem Dar.