Tue | Aug 4, 2020

Jamaica tee off in CGA Four-Ball Championships

Published:Thursday | October 10, 2019 | 12:20 AM
Peter Chin
Peter Chin

Jamaica’s 18-member team to the Caribbean Golf Association Four-Ball Championships at the PGA National Resort and Spa at Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, has undergone its practice round and is now set for action as the competition tees off today. The championship is scheduled to end on Saturday.

The 54-hole championship will, for the first time, showcase a full Jamaican team of 10 competitors while there will be eight other golfers who will compete in individual spots. They will not contribute any team points.

The trials to select the 10-member team was completed in August at the Caymanas Golf Club in St Catherine.

Sean Morris and Jodi Munn-Barrow won the overall Men Senior and Ladies categories at the trials.

Jamaica Golf Association president Peter Chin says it was a direct strategy by the body to select the team early to properly prepare for the championship and give Jamaica a chance at taking the country title for the first time.

“We are definitely fielding a full team and we are hoping to do better than last year,” Chin said.

“Last year, we didn’t have a full team, we didn’t have any ladies at all, so hopefully with the ladies coming back this year we will do well in the overall championship.”

Jamaica will compete for six trophies: two for the females, three for the men, and a country trophy dubbed the Ambrose Guthrie Cup.

Jamaica has the largest contingent players, followed by The Bahamas with 12, while the other countries are Barbados, The Cayman Islands, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, and the US Virgin Islands.

Team Jamaica:

Maria Nunes Trophy (Ladies 35+):

Jodi Munn-Barrow

Alison Reid

Dessie Henry Trophy (Ladies 50+):

Michele Gabay

Marguerite Lyn

Ramon Baez Romano Trophy (Men’s 35+):

John O’Donoghue

Philip Prendergast

Francis and Steele-Perkins Cup (Men’s 50+):

Sean Morris

Mark Newnham

Higgs and Higgs Trophy (Men’s 60+):

Michael Boyd

Bert Tomlinson

Individual players:

Greg Chong

William Lee

Rory Jardine

Owen Samuda

Robert Chin

Dorrel Allen

Peter Chin

George Hugh