Thu | Jan 21, 2021

India crush Windies Women

Published:Monday | November 11, 2019 | 12:31 AM


India Women defeated Windies Women by 10 wickets in the second Twenty20 (T20) International at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground to take a 2-0 series lead.

Anisa Mohammed, the stand-in captain as Stafanie Taylor has been ruled out of the series owing to injury, won the toss and elected to bat first. Once again, the runs were hard to come as Hayley Matthews and Stacy-Ann King opened the batting. King was the first to go for seven, followed by Shemaine Campbelle for a four-ball zero.

Chedean Nation steadied the West Indies Women’s middle order with Hayley Matthews as the pair added 34 runs together before Matthews, trying to hit a straight six, was caught in the deep for 23. Nation fell soon after for 32 as Natasha McLean was the only other batter to reach double figures; she made 17.

Windies Women finished their 20 overs on 103/7. Deepti Sharma was the best bowler for India Women with 4/10 from her four overs.

Shafali Verma, for the second match in a row, took a liking to the Windies Women’s bowling and the pitch at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground. The 15-year-old struck her second consecutive half-century to lead the Indians to victory in the 11th over. Verma finished on 69 not out, and with her was Smriti Mandhana on 30 not out. India won the match reaching 104/0 in 10 overs and three deliveries. Afy Fletcher was the most economical Windies Women’s bowler with 0/11.


H Matthews c Krishnamurthy b Vastrakar 23

S King c Vastrakar b Pandey 7

+S Campbelle st Bhatia b Radha Yadav 0

C Nation c wkp Bhatia b Deepti Sharma 32

N McLean c Mandhana b Deepti Sharma 17

C Henry st Bhatia b Deepti Sharma 8

K Knight not out 8

S Grimmond c Rodrigues b Deepti Sharma 0

A Alleyne not out 1

Extras (lb5, w2) 7

TOTAL (7 wkts, 20 overs) 103

Did not bat: A Fletcher, *A Mohammed.

Fall of wickets: 1-14, 2-15, 3-49, 4-81, 5-84, 6-101, 7-101.

Bowling: Deepti 4-0-10-4, Pandey 4-0-18-1, Radha Yadav 4-0-20-1, Poonam Yadav 4-0-21-0, Vastrakar 3-0-23-1, Kaur 1-0-6-1.


S Verma not out 69

S Mandhana not out 30

Extras (w5) 5

TOTAL (without loss, 10.3 overs) 104

Did not bat: *H Kaur, +T Bhatia, S Pandey, V Krishnamurthy, Poonam Yadav, Deepti Sharma, P Vastrakar, J Rodrigues, Radha Yadav.

Bowling: Henry 1-0-18-0, King 2-0-26-0, Alleyne 2-0-20-0, Mohammed 2-0-14-0, Fletcher 2-0-11-0, Matthews 1-0-11-0, Grimmond .3-0-4-0.

Result: India Women won by 10 wickets.

Series: India Women lead five-match series 2-0.

Player of the Match: Deepti Sharma.

Toss: West Indies Women.

Umpires: J Williams, P Gustard.