Tue | Feb 25, 2020

India beat West Indies by 67 runs to secure T20 series

Published:Wednesday | December 11, 2019 | 2:30 PM

MUMBAI, India, Dec 11, CMC:

India defeated West Indies by 67 runs in the final Twenty20 International of the three-match series at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday in Mumbai, India.

Batting first after being sent in by the Windies, India tallied 240 for three off their 20 overs with KL Rahul top scoring with 91 runs with support from Rohit Sharma 71 and Virat Kohli 70 not out) vs 

In their reply, West Indies could only manage 173 for eight of their allotted 20 overs.

Skipper Kieron Pollard scored 68 and Shimron Hetmyer added 41 against Deepak Chahar 2-20 and Mohammed Shami 2-25. 

Rahul was named Man-of-the-match while Virat Kohli got the Man-of-the-Series award. 

India of course won the series 2-1.




Rohit Sharma c Walsh Jr b Williams 71 

KL Rahul c wkpPooran b Cottrell 91 

+R Pant c Holder b Pollard 0 

V Kohli not out 70 

S Iyer not out 0 

Extras (b1, lb2, w4, nb1) 8 

TOTAL (3 wickets, 20 overs) 240

Did not bat: S Dube, W Sundar, D Chahar, B Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Fall of wickets: 1-135 (Sharma), 2-138 (Pant), 3-233 (Rahul)

Bowling: Cottrell 4-0-40-1 (w1), Holder 4-0-54-0 (w1), Pierre 2-0-35-0 (w1), Williams 4-0-37-1, Walsh Jr 4-0-38-0, Pollard 2-0-33-1 (w1, nb1)


L Simmons c Iyer b Mohammed Shami 7 

B King c Rahul b Kumar 5 

S Hetmyer c Rahul b Kuldeep Yadav 41 

+N Pooran c Dube b Chahar 0 

*K Pollard c sub (Jadeja) b Kumar 68 

J Holder c sub (Pandey) b Kuldeep Yadav 8 

H Walsh Jr b Shami 11 

K Pierre c sub (Jadeja) b Chahar 6 

K Williams not out 13 

S Cottrell not out 4 

Extras (lb5, w5) 10 

TOTAL (8 wkts, 20 overs) 173

Did not bat: E Lewis.

Fall of wickets: 1-12 (King), 2-17 (Simmons), 3-17 (Pooran), 4-91 (Hetmyer), 5-103 (Holder), 6-141 (Pollard), 7-152 (Walsh Jr), 8-169 (Pierre)

Bowling: Chahar 4-0-20-2 (w1), Kumar 4-0-41-2 (w1), Shami 4-0-25-2, Dube 3-0-32-0 (w1), Yadav 4-0-45-2 (w1), Sundar 1-0-5-0 (w1)

Result: India won by 67 runs.

Series: India won three-match series 2-1.

Man-of-the-Match: KL Rahul.

Man-of-the-Series: Virat Kohli.

Toss: West Indies.

Umpires: Nitin Menon, CK Nandan; TV – Chettithody Shamshuddin.