Sat | Feb 27, 2021

India crush West Indies in T20 decider

Published:Thursday | December 12, 2019 | 12:30 AM

MUMBAI, India (CMC):

West Indies’ bid for a rare series win fizzled under the weight of an enormous run chase as India pulled off a convincing 67-run victory in yesterday’s third Twenty20 International to clinch a 2-1 verdict in the three-match series.

Faced with a record run chase of 241 for victory at the Wankhede Stadium, West Indies ended on 173 for eight off their 20 overs to suffer their eighth defeat in nine T20s to India and also notch their third successive series defeat to the subcontinental powerhouses.

Captain Kieron Pollard belted his second half-century in six innings when he top-scored with 68 from 39 balls, but his demise at the end of the 15th over saw the Caribbean side’s slim hopes also disappear with him.

Left-hander Shimron Hetmyer gave support with a 24-ball 41, but no other top order batsman reached double figures.

Opener Evin Lewis was ruled out of the game after sustaining soft-tissue damage to his right knee while fielding, leaving West Indies short of a key batsman.

Asked to bat earlier, India stormed to their third- highest total in T20 Internationals behind Man-of-the-Match KL Rahul’s scintillating 91 and additional half-centuries from fellow opener Rohit Sharma (71) and captain Virat Kohli (70 not out).

Punishing onslaught

Entering the contest with the series in the balance, India unleashed a punishing onslaught up front, with Rahul and Rohit plundering 72 from the first power-play as they put on a rollicking 135 off just 70 deliveries for the first wicket.

Rahul struck nine fours and four sixes in a 56-ball knock, reaching his half-century off 29 balls with a single at the start of the 10th over before perishing in the final over to a catch at the wicket, trying to pull a short one from left-arm pacer Sheldon Cottrell.

Rohit, meanwhile, belted half-dozen fours and five sixes in a 34-ball cameo, raising his 19th T20 fifty with the second of two consecutive sixes off left-arm spinner Khary Pierre in the eighth over, which leaked 21 runs.

When he finally scooped seamer Kesrick Williams to Hayden Walsh at deep mid-wicket in the 12th over, India stumbled when Rishabh Pant fell without scoring five balls later with three runs added, holing out to long off off Pollard’s slow medium.

However, Man-of-the-Series Kohli arrived to produce another magical innings, pummeling four fours and seven sixes in a 29-ball knock as he inspired a 95-run, third-wicket stand with Rahul.

Needing to score at just over 12 runs per over, West Indies had a less than stellar start, losing Brandon King (5), Lendl Simmons (7), and Nicholas Pooran (0) to swiftly tumble to 17 for three in the fourth over.

Pollard and Hetmyer then stitched up the innings in a 74-run fourth wicket stand, which kept West Indies’ hopes of victory alive.


Rohit Sharma c Walsh Jr b Williams 71

KL Rahul c wkpPooran b Cottrell 91

+R Pant c Holder b Pollard 0

V Kohli not out 70

S Iyer not out 0

Extras (b1, lb2, w4, nb1) 8

TOTAL (3 wickets, 20 overs) 240

Did not bat: S Dube, W Sundar,

D Chahar, B Kumar,

Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Fall of wickets: 1-135

(Sharma), 2-138 (Pant), 3-233 (Rahul)

Bowling: Cottrell 4-0-40-1 (w1),

Holder 4-0-54-0 (w1),

Pierre 2-0-35-0 (w1),

Williams 4-0-37-1, Walsh Jr 4-0-38-0,

Pollard 2-0-33-1 (w1, nb1)


L Simmons c Iyer b Mohammed Shami 7

B King c Rahul b Kumar 5

S Hetmyer c Rahul b Kuldeep Yadav 41

+N Pooran c Dube b Chahar 0

*K Pollard c sub (Jadeja) b Kumar 68

J Holder c sub (Pandey) b Kuldeep 8

H Walsh Jr b Shami 11

K Pierre c sub (Jadeja) b Chahar 6

K Williams not out 13

S Cottrell not out 4

Extras: (lb5, w5) 10

TOTAL: (8 wkts, 20 over) 173

Did not bat: E Lewis.

Fall of wickets: 1-12 (King), 2-17 (Simmons), 3-17 (Pooran), 4-91 (Hetmyer), 5-103 (Holder), 6-141 (Pollard), 7-152 (Walsh Jr), 8-169 (Pierre)

Bowling: Chahar 4-0-20-2 (w1), Kumar 4-0-41-2 (w1), Shami 4-0-25-2, Dube 3-0-32-0 (w1), Yadav 4-0-45-2 (w1), Sundar 1-0-5-0 (w1)

Result: India won by 67 runs

Series: India won three-match series 2-1

Man-of-the-Match: KL Rahul

Man-of-the-Series: Virat Kohli

Toss: West Indies