Fri | Aug 14, 2020

Jamaica-Bermuda clash still on

Published:Wednesday | March 11, 2020 | 12:24 AMLivingston Scott/Gleaner Writer

Today’s Jamaica versus Bermuda football friendly at the Montego Bay Sports Complex is on as scheduled at 7 o’clock but president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), Michael Ricketts, says this could change. Yesterday, Minister of Health Dr Christopher Tufton announced the island’s first confirmed coronavirus case at a press conference putting the game under a cloud of uncertainty.

Ricketts, however, told The Gleaner that nothing regarding the game had changed, although he admitted they are awaiting some advice from the health authorities.

Relying on the experts

“We will rely on the experts. Dr (Guyan) Arscott is the (chief) medical person at the JFF, so I will be awaiting directions from him and we will also be getting directions from the ministry. But as far as I know the game is still on,” Ricketts said yesterday.

Ricketts said the recent cancellation of the friendly against Catalonia and now the possibility of the Bermuda game being postponed would set back coach Theodore Whitmore’s World Cup qualification preparation. However, he said the entire world is being affected by this virus and it’s not just Jamaica which is affected.

“I am sure it will disrupt preparations but fortunately it is not unique to us.

It’s affecting other countries who are in a similar position. So we just have to be responsive and responsible and whatever decision we take will be based on the instructions from the Ministry of Health through Dr Arscott, and of course, Concacaf and FIFA,” he stated.

Both teams will be using the match as a warm-up for the Concacaf Gold Cup qualifiers and the Nations League later this year. Bermuda arrived in Montego Bay on Monday.

Jamaica squad: Andre Clennon (Humble Lion FC), Ladale Richie (Mt Pleasant FC), Kevaughn Isaacs (Mt Pleasant FC), Kemar Beckford (Mt Pleasant FC), Jourdaine Fletcher (Mt Pleasant FC), Ajeanie Talbott (Harbour View FC), Jahshaun Anglin (Harbour View FC), Fabion McCarthy (UWI FC), Javoy Belnavis (UWI FC), Renaldo Wellington (Montego Bay United), Peter Vassel (Unattached), Chevone Marsh (Cavalier SC), Kemal Malcolm (Arnett Gardens) and Lamar Walker (Portmore United Andre Fletcher (Waterhouse FC), Ricardo Thomas (Waterhouse FC), Shawn Lawes (Waterhouse FC), Akeem Chambers (Waterhouse FC), Colorado Murray (Waterhouse FC), Dennis Taylor (Humble Lion FC).