Tue | Aug 11, 2020

Hinds elected Kensington president

Published:Saturday | July 25, 2020 | 12:17 AMLennox Aldred/Gleaner Writer

Former Windies batsman Wavell Hinds will be the man at the helm at Kensington as he was unanimously approved as the cricket club’s new leader during an Annual General Meeting on Thursday.

Hinds, the current West Indies Players’ Association president and chief executive officer, takes over from former Cricket West Indies president Dave Cameron, who did not seek re-election.

Cameron will, however, still be part of the club’s executive as he was appointed president emeritus.

Cameron had served in the role of president since 2001 and has been a member of the club for roughly four decades. In his remarks, he thanked the community, membership, and partners of the club for their support. He succeeded the late Vincent Wong and Noel Silvera.

In his brief remarks following his elevation to the presidency, Hinds urged the members of the club to “protect the assets of the newly upgraded facility”. He also wanted the club to “continue with its development programmes from Under-15 to senior”. He said that the club must maintain its core values of integrity, respect, and richness in spirit, talent, and love.

Over the last three years, Kensington has won three major trophies. They are the reigning Jamaica Cricket Association Twenty20 champions. The team played four matches in the Senior Cup competition this season before it was cut short because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The meeting was attended by players, management, and staff support of the club. The executive will meet in a few days to finalise this year’s plan.

Kensington’s new board

Radcliffe Daley – first vice-president

David Bernard Jr – second vice-president

Carole Beckford – secretary

Guatam Kumaraswamy – treasurer

Wayne Lewis – assistant secretary

Marlon Kennedy – assistant treasurer

Brian Blair – club captain

Executive members

Lorna Litchmore

Raymond Smith

Delbert Gayle

Jamie Hay

Ryan Francis