Wed | May 27, 2020

Kenya bans travel in and out of Nairobi to fight coronavirus

Published:Monday | April 6, 2020 | 11:23 AM
County workers practise social distancing and wear masks as they queue to renew their employment contracts in Uhuru Park in downtown Nairobi, Kenya Monday, April 6, 2020. (AP Photo/John Muchucha)

NAIROBI, Kenya (AP) — Kenya increased its restrictions to combat the coronavirus on Monday, announcing travel bans into and out of the capital city, Nairobi, the port of Mombasa and two counties.

Forty-three of Africa’s 54 countries have closed their borders, according to the Africa Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

More than half of Africa’s 54 countries have imposed lockdowns, curfews, travel bans or other restrictions to try to contain the spread of COVID-19.

Fifty-one of the continent’s countries report cases of the disease.

In Kenya, President Uhuru Kenyatta said all movement by rail, road and air in and out of the Nairobi metropolitan area will halt starting Monday at 7:00 p.m.

Movement will also be halted in and out of Mombasa, Kenya’s second largest city, as well as Kilifi and Kwale counties on Kenya’s Indian Ocean coast starting Wednesday.

The restrictions will last for an initial 21 days.

Movement of food supplies and cargo will continue as normal, Kenyatta said.

Kenya already has a dusk-to-dawn curfew to contain the virus that has infected 158 people in the country, according to government statistics.

Four people have died in Kenya from the disease.

Follow The Gleaner on Twitter and Instagram @JamaicaGleaner and on Facebook @GleanerJamaica. Send us a message on WhatsApp at 1-876-499-0169 or email us at or