Tuesday | August 7, 2001

Home Page
Lead Stories
Youth Link
The Shipping Industry
Star Page

E-Financial Gleaner

Guest Book
Submit Letter
The Gleaner Co.

Business Directory
Free Mail
Overseas Gleaner & Star
Kingston Live - Via Go-Jamaica's Web Cam atop the Gleaner Building, Down Town, Kingston
Discover Jamaica
Go-Jamaica Screen Savers
Inns of Jamaica
Find a Jamaican
5-day Weather Forecast
Book A Vacation
Search the Web!

Nation honours 108 'Miss Lou' tops list of recipients

Governor-General Sir Howard Cooke inspects the Guard of Honour during the National Independence Day Parade ceremony yesterday on the lawns of Kings House, Kingston. - Junior Dowie

THE ICON of Jamaica's folklore, Louise Bennett-Coverley, affectionately called "Miss Lou" tops this year's list of 108 recipients for the National Civil Honours and Awards.

When the awards are presented in October, Miss Lou who already has an Order of Jamaica, will receive the nation's third highest honour - the Order of Merit - for her contribution to the development of the Arts and Culture.

Six people will receive the Order of Jamaica. They are Jamaica's outgoing ambassador to the United States, Richard Bernal for his contribution in the fields of international relations and foreign trade; businessman Lascelles Chin, for his work in the fields of Commerce, Community Development and Philantrophy; renowned musicologist Olive Lewin for her contribution in the fields of Arts and Culture; University of the West Indies Professor, Errol Morrison for his contribution to the fields of medicine, biochemistry and the voluntary social services; former deputy governor of the Bank of Jamaica, Owen Jefferson for excellence in banking; and trade unionist Hopeton Caven for outstanding services to trade unionism.

Those receiving the Order of Distinction (Commander Class) include popular politician and trade unionist, Pearnel Charles for his work in the fields of trade unionism and politics and Justice Lloyd Ellis for outstanding work in the field of law and the administration of justice. Other recipients are Reverend Oliver Daley for service in the field of Religion; former Minister of Environment in the People's National Party Government, Easton Douglas for his contribution to public service as well as the country's executive and legislature; Director of Tourism, Fay Pickersgill for outstanding work in the field of tourism and Dr. Arnoldo Ventura for his contribution to Science and Technology.

Among the 35 persons who will be presented with the Order of Distinction (Officer Class) is popular nutritionist, Dr. Heather Little-White for her contribution to nutrition education, Ray Chen for excellence in photography and Mrs. Thelma Deer-Anderson for service in the field of nursing. Others receiving the awards are singer Muhammad Yusuf Ali, previously known as Prince Buster, for his contribution to music; and cosmetologist Jennifer Samuda for her work in the cosmetology industry.

Those receiving the Badge of Honour for Meritorious Service are Reverend Ronald Hamilton for his service to religion; Mrs. Barbara Roache-Clarke, for her service in the field of disaster management; and Arnold White for services to the Kingston and St. Andrew Corporation.

Among the 23 people to receive the Badge of Honour for Long and Faithful Service are Mrs. Sarah Roberts Ellis for service to tourism; Dudley Linton, for dedicated service to senior citizens; Albert Morris, for service to the credit union movement and Mrs. Enid Reid for her service as a pharmacist at the University Hospital of the West Indies.

Back to Lead Stories

In Association with AandE.com

Copyright 2000 Gleaner Company Ltd. | Disclaimer | Letters to the Editor | Suggestions