Mon | Jun 25, 2018

Eight Jamaicans cop Fulbright awards

Published:Thursday | July 29, 2010 | 12:00 AM
Seven of the eight Jamaicans who have been awarded prestigious Fulbright scholarships gathered at a pre-departure briefing at Courtleigh Hotel in New Kingston yesterday, where they were advised of the expectations of them while carrying out their studies at universities overseas. From left (front) are Suzanne Cole, Neleen Leslie, Charlene Sharpe and Dr Colette Myrie. From left (back) are Kenarthur Mitchell Jr, Kelly-Ann Dixon and Maurice Smith. - Rudolph Brown/Photographer

Nadisha Hunter, Gleaner Writer

Jamaica's recipient of the prestigious Hubert Humphrey Fellowship for 2010, Dr Colette Myrie, has pledged to use the opportunity to expand her knowledge so she can assist in countering the vast increase in chronic diseases affecting the island.

Myrie, a research fellow at the Tropical Medicine Research Institute of the University of the West Indies, Mona campus, will be focusing on public health policy and management at Tulane University in Louisiana.

"I plan to spend some time getting a greater understanding of the social side of health and looking at research methods that will help me to analyse the epidemiology of the chronic diseases," she explained during a Fulbright pre-departure and re-entry seminar at the Courtleigh Hotel in New Kingston yesterday.

"My vision is that in a number of years I can contribute, through research and teaching, to a lowering of the number of persons who die from these diseases," she added.

Myrie, along with seven other Jamaicans who have been awarded prestigious Fulbright scholarships, will go off to the United States for a fully funded programme of study in the upcoming school year.

Among the other recipients of the Fulbright scholarship are Maurice Smith, lead in school governance in the Education Transformation Unit in the Ministry of Education; Suzanne Cole, IP engineer at Digicel; Neleen Leslie, brand manager at Lascelles Limited; and Kenarthur Mitchell Jr, an investment representative at RBTT Securities Jamaica Limited.

University lecturers

Three lecturers have been awarded scholarships under the Fulbright Latin American Scholarship Programme of American University Faculty Development Programme. They are Sherrene Bogle, lecturer in computer and information science at the University of Technology; Kelly-Ann Dixon, lecturer in economics at the University of the West Indies, Mona; and Charlene Sharpe, chair in the Department of History, Geography and Social Sciences, at Northern Caribbean University.

The Fulbright programme, which is sponsored by the US Department of State, was established in 1946 to increase mutual understanding between US citizens and other countries. Since its inception, more than 250,000 participants from countries across the world have been selected for their academic achievements and leadership potential to study and/or teach internationally.

The scholarship will enable the scholars to pursue programmes of higher education at US universities of their choice, leading towards master's or PhD degrees.