Tue | Jun 28, 2016

Sinclair, Smiths head Commonwealth Games team

Published:Friday | September 17, 2010 | 12:00 AM

Andre Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

World Championships medal winners Maurice Smith, Kenia Sinclair and Trecia Smith head a list of 48 athletes who have been assembled to represent Jamaica at the October 3-14 Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India.

The delegation also includes eight officials, headed by Chef de Mission Major Desmond Brown and team manager Judith Ewart.

The squad, void of the island's brightest track and field luminaries due to the unfavourable timing of the Games and its less-than-grandeur appeal, also features two-time Central America and Caribbean (CAC) Games shot put champion Dorian Scott, who also has a silver medal at the Commonwealth Games to his credit; national high jump champion Sheree Francis; former CAC Junior champion Andrea Bliss; World Junior Championships finalist Davita Prendagast; and national 100m champion Oshane Bailey.

Maurice Smith, who has a World Championships silver medal, CAC and Pan American gold, along with a Commonwealth Games silver medal to his name, is expected to do well in the decathlon event, where he will be joined by countryman Claston Bernard, who won gold at the Commonwealth Games in 2002.

Sinclair has won silver medals atthe Commonwealth Games and the IAAF World Indoor Championships, both in 2006, and will lend some experience in the women's 800m event, while Trecia Smith, the 2005 world champion in the triple jump and the 2006 Commonwealth Games champion in the same event, will also be looking to return to her best at the India Games.

The men's sprint team will be led by Bailey, Lerone Clarke in the 100m, while Lansford Spence, Steve Slowly and Ramone McKenzie will feature in the 200m.

As reported in The Gleaner some time ago, highly respected Holmwood Technical High School coach, Maurice Wilson, has been appointed as the head coach for the contingent, with Michael Clarke, Kirkland Douglas and Maurice Westney completing the coaching team.


WOMEN: Yanique Boothe (100m, 4x100m), Shanna Thomas (100m, 4x100m), Audra Segree (200m, 4x100m), Davita Prendagast (400m, 4x400m), Dominique Blake (400m, 4x400m), Nadia Cunningham (400m), Tanice Barnett (800m), Kenia Sinclair (800m), Twishanna Williams (1500m), Andrea Bliss (100m hurdles, 4x100m), Nickeisha Wilson (400m hurdles, 4x400m), Sheree Francis (high jump), Nickiesha Beaumont (long jump, 4x400m), Nickevea Wilson (long jump, 4x400m), Trecia Smith (triple jump), Zara Northover (shot put), Nadia Alexander (shot put), Natalie Grant (hammer throw), Tammilee Kerr (javelin, Heptathlon), Kateema Tiette (javelin), Peaches Roach (Heptathlon). MEN: Oshane Bailey (100m, 4x100m), Lerone Clarke (100m, 4x100m), Rasheed Dwyer (100m, 4x100m), Lansford Spence (200m, 4x100m, 4x400m), Steve Slowly (200m, 4x100m), Remaldo Rose (4x100m), Ramone McKenzie (200m, 400m), Allodin Fothergill (400m, 4x400m), Oral Thompson (400m, 4x400m), Ricardo Cunningham (800m, 4x400m), Aundrae Drummond (800m), Rayan Lawrence (1500m), Shawn Pitter (1500m), Hansle Parchment (110m Hurdles), Eric Keddo (110m hurdles), Roxroy Cato (400m hurdles, 4x400m), Adrian Findlay (400m hurdles), Josef Robertson (400m hurdles), Nicholas Thomas (long jump), Darrel Garwood (high jump), Wilbert Walker (triple jump), Dorian Scott (shot put), Raymond Brown (shot put), Jason Morgan (discus), Jabari Ennis (pole vault), Christopher Smith (pole vault), Maurice Smith (decathlon), Claston Bernard (decathlon).

OFFICIALS: Judith Ewart (team manager), Corinne Clarke (assistant manager), Dennis Gordon (assistant manager), Ravi Rochlani (assistant manager), Maurice Wilson (head coach), Michael Clarke (coach), Kirkland Douglas (coach), Maurice Westney (coach).