Sun | Feb 14, 2016

Rusea's, St George's seek advantage

Published:Wednesday | December 7, 2011 | 12:00 AM
Rusea's High's star striker Brian 'Rambo' Brown
St George's Kendon Anderson - File

Adrian Frater, News Editor


Jarrett Park in Montego Bay is expected to be a bubbling cauldron of excitement this afternoon when daCosta Cup champions Rusea's High and Manning Cup champions St George's College square off at 3 o'clock in the first-leg final of the 2011-12 ISSA/Gatorade/ Digicel Olivier Shield, the symbol of all-island schoolboy football supremacy.

While Rusea's, a 10-time winner of the daCosta Cup, will be gunning for a seventh hold on the coveted shield, the St George's College, who have already won the shield 11 times, will be hunting their first-ever Triple Crown, having already won the Manning Cup and Walker Cup this season.

Rusea's, fresh from Saturday's 1-0 win against the gutsy St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS) in the daCosta Cup final, should be on a high as the boys should be highly motivated in their quest to emulate their 2002 team, which denied St George's the Olivier Shield back then.

"They (St George's College) are a quality team, but we intend to give a good account of ourselves," said Anthony 'Follies' Williams, who shares coaching duties at Rusea's with the wily Emerson 'Diggy' Henry.

"While we basically have just two days to get ready, the boys understand the task before them and I am sure they will rise to the occasion," Williams added.

Confident team

St George's, who had a long break since spanking Charlie Smith High 3-1 to win the Manning Cup, is a confident team heading into today's game and, according to assistant coach Marcel Gayle, everything is ready and the players are looking forward to the game with high expectations.

"Rusea's looks to be a very good team and Brown (Brian) will probably be a handful, but we a ready and raring to go," said Gayle.

"I know the western fans will be out in their numbers to support Rusea's, but we will not be intimidated, playing before a large crowd is usually a fulfilling experience for us," he added.

Looking at the record of Rusea's this season, it is hard not to be impressed as their only blemish was their penalty shoot-out loss to STETHS in the Ben Francis KO semi-final. In fact, their record of 23 games, 21 wins, one draw and their penalty shoot-out loss, coupled with their 92 goals for and four against, spells quality in every aspect.

St George's College, who have found Jarrett Park to be a fairly happy hunting ground over the years, have been having a dream season to date as, in addition to winning the Manning Cup and the Walker Cup, they amassed an amazing Manning record - playing 14, winning 13 and drawing just one. In addition, they have scored 52 goals and conceded four.

In terms of personnel, Rusea's star striker 'Rambo' Brown, whose has scored 38 goals this season and has again locked up the 'golden boot', which he won last season, is arguably the player with the highest profile coming into the game. With the likes of Anthony Walker, Demar Dohman, Keino Williams, Toreto Gregory, skipper Nicodie Haughton and goalkeeper Richard Trench expected to provide quality support, the 'Russians' should be buzzing.

St George's, who have won the respect of many pundits, are also quite formidable on paper. In fact, many feel that with players such as star striker Kendon Anderson, skipper Oshane Jenkins, Romario Jones, André Lewis, Cordell Benbow and goalkeeper Nico Campbell, Ryan Miller and Richard Garvey, they are unstoppable.

Roll Call
1909 Jamaica College

1910 Jamaica College

1911 Potsdam College (Munro)

1912 St George's College

1913 Jamaica College

1914 Potsdam College

1915 Jamaica College

1916 Jamaica College

1917 Jamaica College

1918 Jamaica College

1919 Jamaica College and Munro College

1920 St George's College and Munro College

1921 Jamaica College

1922 Jamaica College

1923 Munro College

1924 Munro College

1925 Munro College

1926 Wolmer's Boys

1927 Munro College

1928 St George's College

1929 Cornwall College

1930 Cornwall College

1931 Cornwall College

1932 Munro College

1933 Munro College

1934 Munro College

1935 St George's College

1936 Munro College

1937 St George's College

1938 Wolmer's Boys' and Munro College

1939 Munro College

1940 Cornwall College

1941 Munro College

1942 Jamaica College

1943 Munro College

1944 no competition

1945 Munro College

1946 Jamaica College

1947 St George's College

1948 St George's College

1949 Kingston College

1950 Munro College

1951 Munro College

1952 Kingston College

1953 Cornwall College

1954 No competition

1955 Cornwall College

1956 St George's College

1957 Kingston College

1958 Cornwall College

1959 Cornwall College and St George's College

1960 No competition

1961 Jamaica College

1962 Jamaica College

1963 Cornwall College

1964 Kingston College

1965 Kingston College

1966 No competition

1967 Vere Technical

1968 Vere Technical

1969 Vere Technical

1970 Vere Technical

1971 Wolmer's Boys

1972 No competition

1973 No competition

1974 Jamaica College

1975 Kingston College

1976 Camperdown and Vere Technical

1977 Clarendon College

1978 Clarendon College

1979 Camperdown

1980 Vere Technical

1981 Dinthill Technical

1982 Camperdown

1983 Cornwall College

1984 St George's College

1985 Rusea's and Kingston College

1986 Kingston College

1987 St Andrew Technical

1988 Charlie Smith

1989 Rusea's

1990 Rusea's and Charlie Smith

1991 Ardenne

1992 Rusea's

1993 Rusea's and Excelsior

1994 Wolmer's

1995 Charlie Smith

1996 Norman Manley

1997 No competition

1998 Dunoon Technical


2000 Norman Manley

2001 Cornwall College

2002 Rusea's

2003 Excelsior

2004 Glenmuir High

2005 Calabar High

2006 Bridgeport and Glenmuir High

2007 Jamaica College

2008 St George's College

2009 St George's College

2010 Jamaica College

2011 ?