Wed | Apr 25, 2018

Windwards select T20 squad

Published:Saturday | August 25, 2012 | 12:00 AM


Windward Islands cricket selectors have named a squad of 20 players from which a final team will be selected to play in next year's Caribbean Twenty/20 tournament.

Among the 20 players are three who did not participate in last weekend's Winlotto Windwards Twenty/20 cricket tournament held here.

They are Sunil Ambris and Kavem Hodge, who are currently in Australia with the West Indies under-19 cricket team, and orthodox left-arm spinner Garey Mathurin of St Lucia, playing professional League cricket in England.

Notable absentees are St Lucians Keddy Lesporis and Johnson Charles, and Grenadian Andre Fletcher who are unavailable due to their attendance at the High Performance Centre.

Team selection

The 20 players selected include Devon Smith, Tade Carmichael, Nelon Pascal, Lindon Lawrence (Grenada); Sunil Ambris, Lindon James, Atticus Brown, Keron Cottoy, Delorn Johnson, Kenroy Peters, Miles Bascombe (St Vincent and the Grenadines); Shane Shillingford, Liam Sebastien, Ray Casimir, Kavem Hodge (Dominica); Darren Sammy, Dalton Polius, Mervin Wells, Xavier Gabriel, Garey Mathurin (St Lucia).

The players will meet in Dominica during December for a camp following which the final team will be chosen.

During the recent Windwards tournament here, Vincentian Alston Bobb finished with the best economy rate with 16 overs 48 runs and seven wickets, and St Lucian Mervin Wells had the best run rate of 144.

Also, the most wickets went to Kenroy Peters of champions St Vincent and the Grenadines, who took nine. Devon Smith collected the award for most runs - 130, and the highest score went to St Lucia captain Darren Sammy (76) in the final preliminary-round match against Grenada.

Kenroy Peters was named Player of the Series.