Fri | Jun 22, 2018

Powell, Shiv tons give WI solid start

Published:Wednesday | November 14, 2012 | 12:00 AM

DHAKA, Bangladesh (CMC):

Veteran left-hander Shiv Chanderpaul carved out his 26th Test century to pull level with the peerless Sir Garfield Sobers; while rookie Kieran Powell stroked his second, as West Indies dominated the opening day of the first Test against Bangladesh yesterday.

Chanderpaul finished on 123 not out and Powell grabbed his share of the spotlight with a special 117, to help propel the visitors up to 361 for four at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium.

The duo, at contrasting stages of their careers, added 125 for the fourth wicket after West Indies had stuttered to 106 for three moments before lunch.

Chanderpaul, at age 38 and in his 145th Test, faced 195 balls and struck 17 fours in an innings that has so far lasted a minute short of four hours.

The 22-year-old Powell, meanwhile, cracked 18 fours and a six off 178 balls in just over four hours at the crease, to collect his third century in 12 Tests and second in his last three outings.

When Powell departed just after tea to give debutant off-spinner Sohag Gazi (3-97) his third wicket, Chanderpaul remained to add 130 for the fifth wicket with Denesh Ramdin, who was unbeaten on 52 at the close.

Chanderpaul is now only behind the prodigious Brian Lara on the West Indies all-time list of century-makers. Lara has 34.


WEST INDIES 1st innings

C Gayle c Mahmudullah b Sohag Gazi 24
K Powell b Sohag Gazi 117
D Bravo c Rubel Hossain b Sohag Gazi 14
M Samuels c Sohag Gazi b Shahadat
Hossain 16
S Chanderpaul not out 123
+D Ramdin not out 52
Extras (lb7, w1, nb7) 15
TOTAL (4 wkts, 90 overs) 361

To bat:D Sammy, V Permaul, S Narine, T Best, R Rampaul.

Fall of wickets: 1-32 (Gayle), 2-74 (Bravo), 3-106 (Samuels), 4-231 (Powell).

Bowling: Sohag Gazi 32-6-97-3, Shahadat Hossain 14-0-73-1 (nb7), Rubel Hossain 9-0-54-0 (w1), Mahmudullah 7-0-29-0, Shakib Al Hasan 19-2-69-0, Naeem Islam 8-1-24-0, Nasir Hossain 1-0-8-0.

BANGLADESH:+Mushfiqur Rahim Tamim Iqbal, Shahriar Nafees, Junaid Siddique, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Naeem Islam, Sohag Gazi, Shahadat Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain.

Toss: West Indies.

Umpires: R Illingworth and B Oxenford.

TV: Enamul Haque.