Tue | Aug 30, 2016

Windwards retain 2012 T20 squad

Published:Thursday | November 22, 2012 | 12:00 AM

ST.GEORGE'S, Grenada (CMC):

Windward Islands selectors have announced a strong 14-man squad to compete in the West Indies T20 tournament to be played in Trinidad and St Lucia in January.

The squad is unchanged from the one which participated in the 2012 tournament in Antigua and Barbados.

The team, led by West Indies skipper Darren Sammy, boasts a number of players with international experience. They include former West Indies opening batsmen Devon Smith, Johnson Charles and André Fletcher.

Fletcher added a century to his name during his recent tour of Bangladesh with the WICB High Performance centre (HPC).

Charles scored a career-best 84 to give Windies a 15-run win over England during the ICC World Twenty20 tournament in Sri Lanka.

performing impressively

Also included is the West Indies spinner Shane Shillingford, who has been performing impressively and who earlier this year became the first Dominican to take a wicket in a home Test match, West Indies against Australia.

The rest of the squad is Miles Bascombe, Keddy Lesporis, Tade Carmichael, Nelon Pascal, Delorn Johnson, Kenroy Peters, Gary Mathurin and Liam Sebastein, while Lindon James returns as the wicketkeeper/batsman.

The players were chosen from a 20-member provisional squad selected following the National Lotteries Authority WINLOTT T20 tournament in St Lucia earlier this year.

The WICB T20 tournament in January will revert to a round-robin format with the top four teams advancing to the playoffs.

Trinidad and Tobago are defending champions.