Sat | May 26, 2018

Shiv, Sarwan in Guyana squad for CT20

Published:Wednesday | December 5, 2012 | 12:00 AM

ST JOHN'S, Antigua (CMC):

GUYANA will compete in the Caribbean T20 tournament scheduled to be staged in Trinidad and Tobago and St Lucia in January, the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) confirmed yesterday.

The Guyanese cricketers will be in contention for title honours in the shortest form of the game after the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) appears to have beaten an extended deadline to submit a squad, the WICB reported.

Guyana had missed an initial deadline for submitting a squad possibly because of an ongoing cricket dispute between the GCB and the government in Georgetown.

A dispute which emanated from last year's GCB elections forced the government to dissolve the board and replace it with an Interim Management Committee.

Guyana now join Jamaica, Leeward Islands, Trinidad and Tobago, Windward Islands and Barbados, which have all successfully submitted squads to the WICB.

Combined Campuses and Colleges is the only squad that has not yet been submitted, since CCC is usually named only after the territorial boards have named their squad.

Fast-rising sensation Veerasammy Permaul has been appointed captain of the 14-man Guyana squad. The squad also includes veteran West Indies middle-order batsman Shiv Chanderpaul and discarded Windies player Ramnaresh Sarwan.

The rest of the line-up is Christopher Barnwell (vice-captain), Ronsford Beaton, Devendra Bishoo, Derwin Christian, Royston Crandon, Narsingh Deonarine, Jonathan Foo, Trevon Griffith, Steven Jacobs, Leon Johnson and Rajiv Ivan.