Sun | Apr 22, 2018

All eyes on St George's

Published:Saturday | December 8, 2012 | 12:00 AM
St George's College celebrating their third goal against Glenmuir High during the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA)/Gatorade/Digicel Olivier Shield first-leg football match at Constant Spring Complex on Wednesday. St George's won 4-1.- Gladstone Taylor/Photographer

Robert Bailey, Gleaner Writer

Defending champions St George's College will be looking to wrap up the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA)/ Gatorade/Digicel Olivier Shield title when they face daCosta Cup winners Glenmuir High in the second leg at Brancourt in Clarendon this afternoon at 3:00.

The Neville 'Bertis' Bell-coached St George's will enter today's game oozing confidence, after their huge 4-1 win over Glenmuir in the first leg on Wednesday at the Constant Spring Sports Complex. The Georgians are seeking their 14th hold on the Olivier Shield title and fourth in the last five years.

"We are a confident team," said Bell, following his team's victory on Wednesday. "But my friend 'Jackie' (Patrick) Walters is a very good coach and I think they will come at us on Saturday," he said.

Bell added: "This is not over yet and we are cognisant that we have some more work to do and, hopefully, we will do it next Saturday."

Glenmuir outclassed

The 'Light Blues', who outclassed their opponents in every department in the first leg, will rest their hopes in the hands of national Under-20 representatives Mark Brown, Cardel Benbow, André Lewis, along with Jerondy Henry, who all netted in the opening leg on Wednesday, to lead their victory charge. They are expected to receive strong support from Romario Jones, Ryan Miller and goalkeeper Nico Campbell.

On the other hand, Glenmuir High have shared the Olivier Shield on each of the two previous occasions they won the daCosta Cup.

Walters admitted that it is going to be very difficult for his team to overcome the deficit, but he is expecting a good performance from them.

"We are looking to give a much better performance come Saturday," said Walters. "It is going to be difficult, but we are up for the challenge," he said.

Glenmuir will be looking to their inspirational Newton Henry, along with Kevon Lambert and Donovan Morgan to lead their team's charge for a come-from-behind victory.

  • Past Olivier Shield winners

1909: Jamaica College

1910: Jamaica College

1911: Munro College (was Potsdam College)

1912: St George's College

1913: Jamaica College

1914: Munro College (was Potsdam College)

1915: Jamaica College

1916: Jamaica College

1917: Jamaica College

1918: Jamaica College

1919: Jamaica College & Munro College

1920: St George's College & Munro College

1921: Jamaica College

1922: Jamaica College

1923: Munro College

1924: Munro College

1925: Munro College

1926: Wolmer's Boys

1927: Munro College

1928: St George's College

1929: Cornwall College

1930: Cornwall College

1931: Cornwall College

1932: Munro College

1933: Munro College

1934: Munro College

1935: St George's College

1936 : Munro College

1937: St George's College

1938: Wolmer's Boys and Munro College

1939: Munro College

1940: Cornwall College

1941: Munro College

1942: Jamaica College

1943: Munro College

1944: No competition

1945: Munro College

1946: Jamaica College

1947: St George's College

1948: St George's College

1949: Kingston College

1950: Munro College

1951: Munro College

1952: Kingston College

1953: Cornwall College

1954: No competition

1955: Cornwall College

1956: St. George's College

1957: Kingston College

1958: Cornwall College

1959: St George's College & Cornwall College

1960: No competition

1961: Jamaica College

1962: Jamaica College

1963: Cornwall College

1964: Kingston College

1965: Kingston College

1966: No competition

1967: Vere Technical

1968: Vere Technical

1969: Vere Technical

1970: Vere Technical

1971: Wolmer's Boys

1972: No competition

1973: No competition

1974: Jamaica College

1975: Kingston College

1976: Vere Technical

1977: Clarendon College

1978: Clarendon College

1979: Camperdown

1980: Vere Technical

1981: Kingston College & Dinthill

1982: Camperdown

1983: Cornwall College

1984: St. George's College

1985: Kingston College & Rusea's

1986: Kingston College

1987: St Andrew Tech.

1988: Charlie Smith

1989: Rusea's

1990: Charlie Smith & Rusea's

1991: Ardenne

1992: Rusea's

1993: Excelsior & Rusea's

1994: Wolmer's Boys

1995: Charlie Smith

1996: Norman Manley

1997: No competition

1998: Clarendon College & Dunoon

1999: St Elizabeth Tech

2000: Norman Manley

2001: Cornwall College

2002: Rusea's

2003: Excelsior

2004: Glenmuir High

2005: Calabar High

2006: Bridgeport & Glenmuir High

2007: Jamaica College

2008: St George's College

2009: St George's College

2010: Jamaica College

2011: St George's College