Fri | Jul 1, 2016

Jamaica, JPL XI square off at Manley Horne

Published:Saturday | December 15, 2012 | 12:00 AM

Jermaine Lannaman, Gleaner Writer

Jamaica will fine-tune preparations for the upcoming Caribbean Twenty20 tournament with a warm-up match against a Jamaica Premier League Twenty20 (JPL T20) All-Stars at Manley Horne Park, St Elizabeth, tomorrow.

The game, which is slated to get under way at 1:30 p.m., will see Jamaica fielding a team including captain Tamar Lambert, the returning Andre Russell, Nikita Miller, Danza Hyatt, Nkrumah Bonner, and Krishmar Santokie.

The JPL T20 XI will include standout players of the just-concluded tournament, including out-of-favour national players Xavier Marshall and Andrew Richardson, and former national youth representatives Kemar Marshall and Jermaine Blackwood.

"We have not played a practice match as team since the team was selected, and as such this is a good match to see where we are," said Lambert, who along with his teammates have been training at Sabina Park in recent weeks.

"The match will also provide the selectors and coaching staff a platform from which to select the starting eleven for the opening match."

Jamaica, who will be without key players Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels for the Caribbean Twenty20, will play hosts Trinidad and Tobago in the feature game of the opening day of the Caribbean Twenty20 at Queen's Park Oval on January 6.

Gayle and Samuels are participating in the ongoing Australia Big Bash League, and due to uncertainties relating to their availability for the start of the Caribbean Twenty20 were left out of Jamaica 14-man squad.


Trinidad and Tobago, however, were successful in confirming the availability of two of their top players, Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard, who are also participating in the Big Bash League, and have named them in their 14-man squad.

Narine and Pollard, it is understood, will miss the match against Jamaica, but will be available for the rest of the tournament.

Jamaica Squad: Tamar Lambert (captain), David Bernard Jr (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, André Russell, Danza Hyatt, André McCarthy, Jamie Merchant, Nikita Miller, Odean Brown, Krishmar Santokie, Yannick Elliott, Sheldon Cotterell and Aldane Thomas,.

JPL T20 XI Squad: Xavier Marshall, Jermaine Blackwood, Delbert Gayle, Cassius Burton, Kemar Marshall, Fabian Forbes, Andrew Richardson, Oshane Walters, Peat Salmon, Ralston Levy, Ordaine Hutchinson, Damion Bryce, and Oraine Williams.