Mon | Nov 30, 2020

Grading the Cabinet

Published:Sunday | January 6, 2013 | 12:00 AM
Arnold Nicholson, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade
Portia Simpson Miller, Minister of Defence, Development, Information and Sports
Mark Golding, Minister of Justice
Sandrea Falconer, Office of the Prime Minister (Information)
Derrick Kellier, Minister of Labour and Social Security
Lisa Hanna, Minister of Youth and Culture
Dr Morais Guy, Transport, Works and Housing (housing)
Peter Bunting, Minister of National Security
Phillip Paulwell, Minister of Mining, Energy and ICT
Dr Fenton Ferguson, Minister of Health
Roger Clarke, Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries
Horace Dalley, Ministry of Local Government and Community Development
Ronald Thwaites, Minister of Education
Anthony Hylton, Minister of Industry, Investment and Commerce
Robert Pickersgill, Minister of Water, Land, Environment and Climate Change
Dr Peter Phillips, Minister of Finance and Planning
Dr Wykeham McNeill, Minister of Tourism and Entertainment

Today marks one year to the day since 19 ministers were sworn in to join Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller in the Cabinet following the People's National Party's victory in the December 2011 general election.

The Sunday Gleaner asked a group of Jamaicans to rate the performance of the ministers on a scale of A to E, with A being the top performer.

In instances where the analysts were unable to rate the performance of the minister, no grade was awarded (UN).

The analysts have also included a grade FA, which is the grade assigned in universities when a student has not presented him/herself for examination or did not submit the requisite coursework.

The ministers have been rated on the creation of new policy and/or launch of initiatives to actively address issues under their portfolio, illustration of personal leadership and competent management of their portfolio.

Dr Hume Johnson, Dr Orville Taylor and Richard 'Dickie' Crawford had no discussions as they provided the grades, and the scores reflect that.

You can add your grade and send it to

SCORE CARD - Hume   Orville   Dickie   You

  • Portia Simpson Miller, Minister of Defence, Development, Information and Sports -  D FA D
  • Dr. Wykeham McNeill,  Tourism & Entertainment - C+ B+ B
  • Dr. Peter Phillips, Finance, Planning & the Public Service - B+ D- C
  • Peter Bunting, National Security - D A- C
  • Arnold Nicholson, Foreign Affairs & Foreign Trade - C F- D
  • Lisa Hanna,Youth and Culture -  C+ C- D
  • Ronald Thwaites, Education - B B+ A
  • Robert Pickersgill, Water, Land, Environment & Climate Change - D F D
  • Dr. Fenton Ferguson, Health - B B- C
  • Anthony Hylton, Industry, Investment & Commerce - C C E
  • Mark Golding, Justice -  C B+ E
  • Mr. Derrick Kellier, Labour and Social Security. - UN C- D
  • Noel Arscott,  Local Government & Community Development - C D- E
  • Dr. Omar Davies, Transport, Works & Housing - UN D- C
  • Phillip Paulwell,  Mining, Energy & ICT - B F B
  • Roger Clarke,  Agriculture & Fisheries - UN F- C
  • Dr. Morais Guy, Transport, Works & Housing (Housing) -  UN UN D
  • Sandrea Falconer, Office of the Prime Minister (Information) - D B+ D
  • Horace Dalley, Finance, Planning & Public Service (Public Service) - UN D UN
  • Natalie Neita-Headley,  Office of the Prime Minister (Sports) - C+ B UN