Mon | Nov 20, 2017

Ramdin credits teamwork for T&T's threepeat

Published:Tuesday | January 22, 2013 | 12:00 AM
Members of the Trinidad and Tobago cricket team and manager Omar Khan (centre) celebrate their Caribbean T20 Tournament victory over Guyana, following the final at Beausejour Cricket Stadium on Sunday night. - WICB Media Photo/Randy Brooks


Captain Denesh Ramdin has attributed teamwork as the main reason behind Trinidad and Tobago's historic milestone, after they blew away Guyana to win the Caribbean T20 title for a third consecutive year.

Ramdin says different players stepped up at different times during the tournament - including during Sunday's final - where the Trinidadians crushed Guyana by nine wickets.

"That's what team is all about," declared an elated Ramdin after the game, "different guys for different occasions. Everyone did their part."

Fireworks lit up the sky over the Beausejour playing field as the winners celebrated in front of a large audience that included about 300 Trinidadians, who flew into Castries on a chartered flight to back their team.

A victory lap was followed by an energetic live band performance from Dwayne Bravo, who grabbed the lead microphone and thrilled the crowd with his enthusiastic hip gyrations.

"It's amazing, three in a row, Bish," said Ramdin in an interview with former West Indies fast bowler, Ian Bishop.

"It was fantastic. Winning the toss was important. Going out there and executing our plans, picking up early wickets. We have a great bunch of guys, I can't ask for more."

Guyana confined

The defending champions restricted Guyana to a woeful 116 for six off their 20 overs and then cruised to their target with over seven overs remaining.

Their run chase was highlighted by a 52-run stand off 32 balls between Lendl Simmons and rookie Evin Lewis, who made 52 and 32, respectively. Simmons slammed an unbeaten 52 off 37 balls with four fours and three sixes, while the left-handed Lewis stroked a cavalier 32 from 18 balls with four fours and two sixes.

When they were parted in the sixth over, Kieron Pollard welcomed a promotion to number three by blasting three sixes and a four in a cameo unbeaten 25 from 21 balls, as he starred in an unbroken 68-run, second-wicket partnership off 43 balls with Simmons.

T&T's triumph was set up by fast bowler Shannon Gabriel (2-16) and Rayad Emrit (2-18), who claimed two wickets apiece in superb four-over spells to keep a lid on the scoring. In fact, it was Pollard's massive blow over long-on off off-spinner Narsingh Deonarine that sealed victory and sparked a fireworks display and partying among the Trinidadian players and fans.

"We can't take away anything from Trinidad. They played some good cricket throughout the tournament," said Veerassamy Permaul, the Guyanese captain.

"We really never had a momentum. We never had any significant partnerships going and we kept losing wickets at crucial stages."



+D Christian c Emrit b Badree 5
T Griffith run out 29
R Sarwan c Simmons b Gabriel 5
N Deonarine c wkp Ramdin b Gabriel 0
C Barnwell c DM Bravo b Emrit 32
L Johnson c Simmons b Emrit 1
R Crandon not out 16
S Jacobs not out 9
Extras (lb4, w10, nb5) 19
TOTAL (6 wkts, 20 overs) 116

Did not bat:V Permaul, D Bishoo, R Beaton.

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Christian, 1.4 overs), 2-14 (Sarwan, 4.1), 3-15 (Deonarine, 4.3), 4-76 (Griffith, 14.1), 5-88 (Barnwell, 16.1), 6-89 (Johnson, 16.3).

Bowling: Gabriel 4-0-16-2, Badree 4-0-21-1, Narine 4-0-26-0, DJ Bravo 4-0-31-0, Emrit 4-0-18-2.


L Simmons not out 52
E Lewis c Johnson b Beaton 32
K Pollard not out 25
Extras (b4, lb1, w5, nb1) 11
TOTAL (1 wkt, 12.3 overs) 120

Did not bat: DJ Bravo,+D Ramdin, DM Bravo, J Mohammed, R Emrit, S Narine, S Badree, S Gabriel.

Fall of wickets: 1-52 (Lewis, 5.2 overs).

Bowling: Jacobs 3-0-35-0 (w1), Barnwell 1-0-10-0 (w1), Beaton 4-0-11-1 (w1, nb1), Bishoo 2-0-30-0 (w1), Deonarine 1.3-0-16-0, Permaul 1-0-13-0.

Result: T&T won by nine wickets.

Man of the Match: Shannon Gabriel.

Man of the Series: Darren Bravo.

Toss: T&T.

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Patrick Gustard

TV umpire: Verdayne Smith.