Tue | Oct 27, 2020

Galaxy of stars on show today

Published:Saturday | February 9, 2013 | 12:00 AM

Bolt, Blake to run at C'down Classic

Raymond Graham, Gleaner Writer

TOP athletes from Racers Track Club, led by Olympic 100 and 200 metres champion Usain Bolt, will make their season debuts today at the Camperdown Classic which is set to start at 8:15 a.m. at the National Stadium.

Leading stars from the Glen Mills-coached Club, except for 400m runner Rosemarie Whyte, have been entered for the meet. They include Bolt, Yohan Blake and Warren Weir, who swept all three medals over the 200 metres at last year's Olympic Games. All three have been entered for the 400 metres event which is scheduled to go off at 5 p.m. This will be preceded by the women's 400m at 4:45 p.m.

The vastly improved 100 metres sprinter, Kemar Bailey-Cole, who ran in the heats of the 4x100m at the London Games, will also join his teammates over the one-lap event, where the likes of Allodin Fothergill and Edino Steele are also expected to compete. Former Racers athlete Jermaine Gonzales, now a member of the Bertland Cameron-coached Blazers Track Club, will go up against his former clubmates in the one-lap event.

National 400m hurdle representative Ristananna Tracy, who won the 800 metres in runaway style last year, will be hoping for another excellent start to the season as once again she will run over the two-lap event. After a below-par 2012 season, the former Edwin Allen High athlete will be hoping for a better performance this year. The 800 metres event is set to get under way at 9:51 a.m.

Most of the spotlight will be on the elite athletes but there will also be keen competition among top high school athletes where Kingston College, Calabar High, Jamaica College and St Jago High will be the top male teams, while among the females St Jago High and Vere Technical will be the leading contenders.

A feature of today's high school competition will be the 4x100 metres relays for Class One boys and girls, where some $200,000 will be up for grabs for the top three teams. The winners will collect $60,000, second place $25,000 and $15,000 to third place.