Fri | May 25, 2018

Guyana, Barbados hunt second-round redemption

Published:Friday | February 15, 2013 | 12:00 AM
Kirk Edwards - File


Guyana and Barbados will attempt to redeem themselves when they face each other today in their crucial second-round match of the WICB regional four-day championship at Kensington Oval.

Both teams had poor starts to the championship despite individual brilliance from some of their rising players in the first round.

Guyana were forced to settle for first innings points against Leeward Islands while Barbados suffered an outright defeat to defending champions Jamaica.

Guyana and Barbados, perennial rivals, will be hoping that better performances would improve their standings and set a spirited campaign tone for the rest of the season.


Barbados' batting, which has promised much, has not lived up to expectation in their season opener against Jamaica.

Its susceptibility to spin will be tested against an attack led by Guyana's captain Veerasammy Permaul.

In the first round, Permaul's five-wicket haul in the second innings hampered Leewards batting and set the stage for a possible Guyana win.

Guyana and Barbados have been experiencing contrasting fortunes in regional cricket this season.

While Guyana have powered their way to the finals of the Caribbean T20, Barbados have slumped to their sixth-straight defeat in regional tournaments following four straight losses in the Caribbean T20 and a 75-run defeat in the first-round match of the Super50.

The Bajans are expected to showcase again a bright spark in young Miguel Cummins, who took five wickets in the first inning against the Jamaicans and his follow-up performance will be closely monitored.


BARBADOS (from): Kirk Edwards (captain), Rashidi Boucher, Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Kyle Hope, Christopher Jordan, Ashley Nurse, Javon Searles, Kevin Stoute, Jomel Warrican.

GUYANA (from): Veerasammy Permaul (captain), Christopher Barnwell, Ronsford Beaton, Devendra Bishoo, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Rajendra Chandrika, Derwin Christian, Assad Fudadin, Steven Jacobs, Leon Johnson, Keon Joseph, Amir Khan, Paul Wintz.