Mon | May 28, 2018

WI's Taylor, Dottin named on ICC team

Published:Tuesday | February 19, 2013 | 12:00 AM
Leading run-getter Stafanie Taylor.

MUMBAI, India (CMC):

Two West Indies players have been named in the ICC Women's World Cup India 2013 Team of the Tournament announced yesterday.

The two - Stafanie Taylor and Deandra Dottin - are part of a 12-member team with Player of the Tournament, New Zealand's Suzie Bates, named as captain.

The side also features four players from Australia, four from England, one New Zealander and one Sri Lankan.

"It's obviously a great honour that the panel not only thought to bestow title of Player of the Tournament on me, but also the captaincy of the Team of the Tournament," Bates said.

"It's been a great event here in India, and I, of course, would have loved to have led my team to the final, but it wasn't to be for us this year."


The team was aimed at being suited for India conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament only. Statistics were used, but were not the sole basis for selections.

The selection panel struggled with deciding the final 12 for the women's team and players who were considered included Arran Brindle and Sarah Taylor of England, Amy Satterthwaite and Sian Ruck of New Zealand, Shashikala Siriwardena of Sri Lanka, Erin Osborne of Australia and South Africa's Shabnim Ismail.

ICC Women's World Cup India 2013 Team of the Tournament (in batting order): Suzie Bates (New Zealand - captain), Charlotte Edwards (England), Rachael Haynes (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Eshani Kaushalya (Sri Lanka), Jodie Fields (wicketkeeper - Australia), Katherine Brunt (England), Holly Colvin (England), Anya Shrubsole (England), Megan Schutt (Australia), 12th player: Holly Ferling (Australia).